• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

hot legs

samweaver

Anyone else have hot legs? I'm new to BMWs having had Japaneses bikes most of my life. I now own a 1985 K100RT! This bike must feel great in the winter but I'm in Savannah, GA where it's in the 90s everyday and the heat around my knees is really hot. It looks as if one of the many previous owners had mounted some type of air foil at the edge of the fairing to pull cool air back towards the knees. Is there maybe something else I can do? Or some way to block the hot air?

thanks, sam.

Baker Air Wings

Hi,

Have you looked at attaching some Air Wings? I've heard they work well.

Anyone else have hot legs?

Just got back from a 45 min ride on my K75RT. It's 84 degrees at 8:00PM. After 10 years of riding this motorcycle in the summer I am still amazed at the amount of heat that gets trapped behind the fairing.

When I can, I ride with my heels on the footpegs, and keep my knees outside of the fairing. This keeps lots of fresh air on my legs. I have a "summer" windshield that is considerably smaller than the stock windshield.

There are lot's of "fixes" out there, but whatever you do it's gonna be hot. Unless...

you do what wndsrfr does;

http://forums.bmwmoa.org/showpost.php?p=116266&postcount=5

The airbox eliminator worked great on my 75S and on a friends early 85 100RT.

Gilly

I owned an '85 K100RT for quite a few years. The heat finally drove me off it - and I got a K75S.. that wasn't a hot bike at all compared to the RT.