• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

need help...simple task turned hard...

plexiform

77 R100s rear shock relacement....I thought this was supposed to be easy...

All i wanted to do was change out the rear shocks of my 77 R100s and after getting the right side done i started the left and found that the bolt holding the bottom of the rear shock was put in from the inside out.... Now to get it off i have to slide it out but the disc brake rotor gets in the way. I'm not a mechanic, never taken the rear wheel off before and its becoming a real mess.

1. All I really want to accomplish is move the rear wheel far enough off center to get enough room to pull out the lower rear shock bolt (left side).

2. I've wiggled the wheel every which way but cannot accomplish #1.

3. Now that I have the wheel half way off I can't put it back together because of two reasons:
i. the piece that sits inside the wheel hub between the wheel and the shaft side of the swingarm keeps moving off center so i can't get the axle through all the parts it needs to go through, but before i can even get to this i have the next issue:
ii. brake caliper is shut closed and i can't separate the brake pads to get the caliper back in place. I did not try to pull them apart as i figured that was not a good idea. The caliper brace is one of the parts that the rear axle goes through. Any help would be appreciated.

follow link for pics.

http://photo.net/photodb/folder?folder_id=1083163

Last edited: