• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

1150R Tankbags

2popfire

UpstateJoe
Greetings All,
My name is Joe Murray and I'm a first time BMW owner having recently purchased an 04" 1150R. Although I've been riding for nearly 30 years this is BMW 101 for me! I have joined the MOA, #118486, and I am loving my new bike!!
I am posting to ask advice on tankbags. What is the best fit for the tank on my 1150R? I use my tankbag constantly, it seldom comes off except for refueling. However the Eclipse Sport which I have used on the Concours for many years is a poor fit on the sloping BMW tank. Thanks for your suggestions.
Joe

joe,

welcome!

i've got an 02 r1150ra, and i use a magnetic bag from marsee. i think it's 11l. it's got a clear map window on top, and looks ok on the bike for my tastes. i dont leave it on all the time as the magnets are really strong and make the paint look funny. it's been explained elsewhere, but i just take it off when i get home.

marsee sells that 'tear drop' model, and i dont know how good or bad it looks. how far 'upstate' are you? you might have a couple of good shops near you where you can see a large selection of bags. good excuse for a ride. ;)

i dont have any really good photos of it, but here are a few lousy ones.

rounder_01.jpg

rounder_20.jpg

rounder_81.jpg

leakey_02_49.jpg

greg_13.jpg

sorry, none that are much better.