• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Riding in groups- the pros and cons-

BC1100S

Left Coast Rider
Group riding is simply a bad idea.

And if you want to peddle your book. Perhaps you should look into paid advertising on this website.... www.bmwmoa.org

Last edited:
Group riding is simply a bad ideawww.bmwmoa.org

Explain why you think group riding is a bad idea. I've been doing it for 53 years now & most of the time I'm the ride leader. Some rides last a few hours & some rides go for days. Sometimes the group gets split up because of traffic or someone breaks down but it's never been a big deal. I've led Lunch, Museum, Rally, Picnic, High School Reunion, Toy Run, & many other rides over the years. If group riding isn't for you so be it.

Well, since you asked. An issue for me is that drivers often don’t know how to interact with a motorcycle group ride. For example, one issue I faced when coming up behind a tour group on Harleys(could have been any brand), was that the group of 12 or so was stretched out just enough that a vehicle attempting to pass wouldn’t be able to get past the group. The group was at posted speed which, due to the inch worm effect, meant that at times, the tail end of the group was 10 mph below the speed limit. I was fortunate to be on a bike so could pass in intervals. A cage would be unable to do the same safely. Also, a group ride is restricted to the ability of the least proficient rider. I’ll stop now. I do have more, though.

Doug