• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Onboard tools

cliffd

Cliff
Hi I am new to the group. My apologies if this has appeared before, but I didn't see anything in my searches here so, I thought I would ask. What tools should I have handy onboard for my 2009 1200RT? The kit that came with bike is long gone so I want to put together one of my own, say from Lowe's or something like this. I ride mostly on highways and city streets and am somewhat competent with a wrench. Granted, I am not a mechanic, but when I started driving long ago the only vehicles I could afford needed work. I know how to do a few things and want to be prepared to get me off the side of the road should I ever find myself broke down. Does someone have a list of must have tools I should get for my bike? Thanks in advance for the help.

Cliff

Thanks!

Thanks for pointing me in that direction, Henzilla. That thread had a lot of good information. I made a list and am off to the store. Of course, I am making plans for the roadside services too, should I ever need it. Thanks everyone for that advice.

I carry a snap-on mini ratching screw driver with some torx, Philips and a flat blade bit and a leatherman mutt tool
Tire repair kit and cycle gear electric pump
Also front wheel socket from Mark parns

BMW apparently feels that the only two tools you need carry are a credit card with sizeable limit, and a cell phone to call a dealer or tow company.