• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Tell me about your 03-05 K1200GT

oldnslow

It's a way of life!
Im still shopping for a new to me bike. Have almost convinced myself to get a K1200LT for the comfort and luggage capacity, but I am just not that old yet to be riding a Big K ! Can you owners of the 03-05 K1200GT (or any other years of that body style. When did that style start?) tell me about your bikes? They are really a beautiful bike. I have no experience riding them though. They are far and few between at dealers it seems. Im only interested in the GT trim level.

Reply on here or send me a message. Thanks again!

(p.s. '03-'05 is a "brick engine" bike isn't it?

Last edited:
I personally like the looks of the 1st gen GT (03-05). Rounder lines, more sleek looking and IMHO, much more beautiful. The 2nd Gen which started in 06 had a much different look. More of a touring bike and less of a sportbike. Harder edges.

I test drove a 2nd gen.. Think it was an 08. Fantastic bike. Super smooth and very powerful. I ended up getting a GS because I just felt more at home on it, but the GT was something I lusted after...