• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Just got this cool machine!

Y

yrfuneralmytrial

Hello all, I just bought this '75 R75/6 yesterday and am pretty stoked. I'm fairly new to BMW (my last 4 bikes have been Hinckley Triumphs) but am looking forward to bonding with this bike. It's got 46k+ miles, seems to run right etc... I took it out today for about 50 miles and all seemed well. I got it for $2000 from a guy fairly local to me. I have no service records and the guy wasn't a big talker but from I could get out of him, I got the impression he looked after the essentials. Have a look and chime in. Like I said, I'm on the front-end of BMW ownership and am not sure what's what. From what I can see:

-front fender has been resprayed (likely with a rattlecan)
-the handlebars seem VERY tall/upright (stock?). I favor a lower bar but these are pretty comfortable.
-no spokes
-centerstand should have a "tang" right? mine doesn't.
-sidestand is longer than a mule's...
-tank paint is not bad at all. Rear fender paint is chipping.
-previous owner repaintedthe frame.

I think I'm going to put new roundels on and let it be.
I'll figure out more as I go but I love it already. A cool bike.
fullshot.jpg