• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

what am I doing here?

J

jjd49660

ok, I am not really, really a new member, but for the number of times that I visit here, I could be considered new. I am new to BMW, and still learning the history, the makes and model name lingo.
One irritation I have is that I have never felt like I belong here. I own a 2008 K1200LT.
I look at the forums and I see the headings for the other bikes, like the brick and wedge, etc. What the frik do I have??? Which forum covers my bike?? Because of this I spend more time at http://www.bmwlt.com
Since I have paid my dues for "THIS SITE" it just seems that I should be getting something for my money! lol
And another thing... it seems that since they stopped production of the K1200LT, nothing, or very little coverage is given to my bike in that glossy mag anymore!

thanks for letting me vent.
Joe

Hello Joe,

You have the old K engine architecture. Looking at the engine (if you could see it) you will see a package that looks mostly lile a box. Hence, you have the Flying Brick!

Learn to service it yourself if you put on any real mileage. Otherwise it will bankrupt you.

Bob

Seems like the LT is covered in the "Flying Brick K-Bikes". Don't you find any discussion over there that are directed to the LT?

thanks guys for the responses. but that exactly what I am referring to- "it seems" that I should belong- or be catagorized in "the brick" but it states in the header that it covers models up to 2004...