• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Rear wheel turns at idle on centerstand

BillyClyde

I am new to the world of BMW and am researching as much data as possible. I recently bought a '96 RT and love it. Before I ride, I start it while on the center stand and let it idle at 1000 rpm for 3-5 minutes. I have heard the horror stories of melting the tupperware, so I have been very careful.

My question is on the rear wheel turning while at idle in neutral. My Clymer's service manual had two measurements for the clutch lever to check, and mine were perfect. Any ideas?

Oh, thanks for the friendly and informative folks on MOA forums...other forums I have read reek of arrogance and smarta** responses.

Steve Sellers

The rear wheel spin is normal, don't sweat it.

You shouldn't need to idle for 3-5 minutes. I believe BMW specifically says don't...pretty much as soon as the bike will run smoothly without the enrichener "on" you are good to go.

My '96 R1100RS does this as well.
Like you, I was a little concerned about that at first, but I was able to stop the spinning with my hand, so I didn't worry about it too much after that.

It just doesn't look right...

Paul