• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

2009 BMW R1200RT oil change question

E

EDWARDL45

I first starting riding almost 5 years past, therefore I have little maintenance experience. My son also has had BMW's and has assisted me with many add-ons and maintenance situations. I have to admit I know very little about motorcycles myself.

Being that I am retired and do not have a substantial income any more I have decided to perform some minor maintenance on the motorcycle due to the fact that my son seems to be getting irritated with my constant questions and calls for help, and I understand. I am also tired of paying $80 an hour for labor plus parts just for some maintenance that I am sure I can perform myself at times.

So, now I have now purchased an oil filter, oil filter wrench, oil and I am ready to start doing a winter oil change for storage over the winter, by the way I have almost 3,500 miles on since the last oil change and have 12,000 miles on the bike. The cost of these items I hate to say was approximately $100, but everything but the oil can be used over and over.

My question is: When it comes to draining the oil, I assume that it should be warmed up for easy draining first. Then remove the drain plug and drain the oil followed by removing the filter plus clean everything off. What I do not know is do I have to worry about draining any additional oil from the cooling system from any place else?