• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Oil heads/airheads

• Thread starter jphillips138845
  • Start date
J

jphillips138845

I have been riding a 92 100GS for the past 16 years which I assumed was an airhead. When I started thinking about it I do not know the difference between an airhead and a oilhead. I assumed it was something to do with the cooling or lubrication of the valves.

well, there's hundreds if not thousands of differences, but the main ones are:

engine is cooled by recirculated oil from the sump, fed through small passageways to the heads

valves are actuated by a chain driven cam in the head, not push rods like the airhead

4 valves per head instead of two

fuel injection instead of a carbureator

significant hp increase, (between 25 and 40 or so depending on the model, considering the late 1000cc airheads were 60hp machines)

displacement difference (1100 or 1150 vs the 1000cc of your GS)

many other design, structure changes, but those are the big engine changes.

The "Oilheads" have two oil pump chambers on the same shaft. One provides low volume high pressure for lubrication - as is normal. The other pumps high volume low pressure oil into cooling passages in the heads past the combustion chamber and the exhaust valves. Thus the moniker, Oilhead.