• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Need help troubleshooting

bbell1

Greetings,

I started a restoration project a year ago on an '72 R75/5. And let me say upfront that I'm not a mechanic but have enjoyed rummaging in and on this old airhead. Did something similar to a '84 R65 years a go.

This bike had been in an accident 10 years ago. I've done a complete tear-down and over time have pieced, cleaned, replaced and tinkered where necessary.

I thought I was nearing an initial attempt at starting the bike but now notice that, when I apply the clutch, the rear wheel will neither roll forward or backward (except for a little play). it seems to come up to hard stop, with a clunk, when I try to roll it forward (whileon the center stand). When I put the bike in neutral it does spin freely. I took the heads off to make shure the pistons weren't frozen (new rings) and I can get them to budge, reluctantly, using an allen wrench in the front rotor.

I used a cheater bar to fully depress the clutch arm and stilll no luck with the rear wheel.

So.... Is it the transmission? Clutch? Ideas to narrow down the issue?

Thanks in advance!

If I understand you correctly, you're saying that the bike will roll in neutral but when any gear is selected AND the clutch lever pulled in (dis-engaging the clutch), the bike won't roll?

How long has the bike been sitting since you've been working on it?
Did you have it stored on a concrete floor in a cold environment? (think Michigan winter in a garage)