• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

F650 GS newby question

dougfollett

I have been looking for a decent second bike to my R1100RT. Right now I have a Yamaha XT225 but I wanted to bump it up a bit for longer distances. I think the F650GS is it but I'm completely new to them. I'm going to look at a 2003 F650 GS that has 21K on it that has been dealer maintained. They are asking $4,600 for it and it comes with side and top luggage containers and seems to be in overall decent, road ready condition. Does the price sound about right? It has ABS, is that standard? Anything in particular to look for? Thanks for helping a guy out. I'll be checking it out Sunday. You can see the bike on the Seattle Craigslist. It's red.

Before I bought my 650 a couple of years ago, I did a lot of research. I luckily ran across the Chain Gang pretty early in the process. They have a great forum as well as a technical section that includes buying tips. I ended up with a 2nd hand 2007 and have been very happy with it. Good luck!

Mine is an '03 - I just love that Rotax engine - it's really reliable and smooth. The ABS is great. I did a lot of accessories: heated grips, Pellican bags, tank bag, Cee Baileys windshield, Stebel Air Horn, Tailblazer stop light.