• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Low speed / parking lot maneuvering..

K1600_gtl

So I'm new to riding a "heavy" bike... the K1600. I'm able to easily flat foot the bike, but the placement of the foot pegs makes moving it sometimes into a parking space (especially backing up) a challenge. I already laid it down once (thank God with very minimal damaged due to the protective bars). My question is... I'd heard they originally had a reverse gear but took it out.. and my biggest struggle is backing up while turning sometimes. Any advice other than "practice practice practice"? The bike is ok once its moving 3mph or more and I can put my feet up.. it's feet down that's killing me! ;)

If you didn't just buy a bike that is too heavy or too tall for you- there are no magic tricks to walking a bike back except do as much as you can for ergos and watch your footing. Higher soles on boots may be a modest help.

Despite riding a lifetime, at my age (almost 70) I'd never consider a 6 cyl. I ride an RT as my main bike as do many others in my club. The 6's are for guys 15 or more years younger whose SO doesn't ride. My SO owns 3 of her own...

So I'm new to riding a "heavy" bike... the K1600. I'm able to easily flat foot the bike, but the placement of the foot pegs makes moving it sometimes into a parking space (especially backing up) a challenge.