• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

center stand question.

baroda

Hello everyone! It is my first time here. I recently bought two airheads a 1984 R80RT which I plan to restore to stock and a 1984 R100RT which I want to customize and use my creativity with. I am presently working on the R80RT and have a few questions. These are my first airheads, and I am actually more experienced with more modern bikes. I have experience with K-bikes (K100, K1100 and K1200) and other bikes.

1. The first thing I noticed is that when the bike is on the center stand, the wheels are still resting on the ground. None of my other bikes did this (both k bikes and other european and japanese bikes). Is this normal, or do I have the wrong size rear shocks?

2. On a k-bike, before I remove the shock, I put a 2 x 4 or other support to support the wheel. I guess the same goes with the airheads, but there is no space in my case. Anyway, I forgot about this and removed the shocks and the rear subframe (for rust removal). I removed it from the main stand (I did that to remove the headers) and now the bike is stuck and won't move. I am also not able to put it back on the center stand. I am guessing this is because of the shoes in the drums getting stuck. (I put the rear sets back and made sure it was in neutral). Am I right? The bike did roll (I did get it running before starting to disassemble for restoration).