• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

New NY Member

Bobonli

Hello. I'm a long time outside observer of this organization, having been referred here by a member when I started asking questions about BMW motorcycles on another website. I signed up for the "3 Free Issues" of the Owner's News deal, and have been hooked ever since. The organization, this website and the publication share a wealth of information so I could not help but join.

I've been motorcycling on and off since 1993. I started with a small HD Sportster, which people said I looked silly on, given my tall height. It's great for the ego when people tell you you look silly on a motorcycle! I took a break for several years and about 2 years ago bought a Vespa to commute on. It seemed like a good gateway vehicle to see if I was still into riding. It's small size also made it easy to stash under a cover since I was until recently an apartment dweller. I've been an avid cyclist all my life and particularly enjoy mountain bike riding. As much as the scooter gets me to where I have to go, there are places it cannot take me, such as fire roads. It's also a handful in the wind, on bumpy roads......etc etc.

I'm hoping to transition back to a full sized MC by the end of the year. I've been tuning up my skills in lessons (worried that I forgot how to shift while riding the scooter..but it all comes right back) and take safety very seriously.