• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Left rear blinker not working

jlweaver

Hi,

I'm new to MOA so thank you all in advance for your help. I have an 1983 R80RT. I bought it new over 30 years ago and all maintenance, other than the easy things, have been done by professionals. Now that I'm retired I'm having a little more fun doing more things myself. However, I went to do an "easy thing" and it's not working. The left rear blinker is behaving as if it has a burned out bulb. I have confirmed the problem is NOT the bulb. The connectors at the bulb all look good and clear. Where else should I be looking?

Possibly related to this, but not sure, is I've had intermittent ignition switch issues over the last year. I've cleaned all the connectors at the switch, as well, but the problem still exists. It's as if there's varying levels of power running through, or activated by, the switch. It's very inconsistent. Could these two be related or do I have two different problems going on?

Jeff

Jeff -

Welcome to the forum! What if you were to switch bulbs...maybe that would eliminate the bulb for sure. It will be good to hear other ideas as well.

Are you sure you are getting power to the bulb???........ Got a volt-ohm meter to check that???....... Kurt's idea about changing/switching bulbs will tell you if it is the bulb or the "socket".....A thirty year old connection can corrode a bit, so steel wool inside the socket and the plug connection will clean that off pretty well.