• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Installing Ztechnik engine protectors on a 2015 R1200RT

c_artgo

I am a pretty good mechanic I always do my own maintenance and accessory installing. I purchase a set of Ztechnik engine protectors and attempted to install them and followed the directions carefully. They flat out won't fit, the hole in the top bracket is about 5 to 8 mm's off. I took them off and on quite a few times always the same results. Didn't even try the right side. I had the same set on my 2009 RT and they fit perfectly. I wonder if quality is slipping at that company. For the price you pay for them they should go on easily. Has anyone else had that problem with the Ztechnik engine protectors. They said the set for the 2105 GS is the same.

I had Wunderlich bars on my 2015 RT. The were bent in a tip over, so they went out with the trash.

I then ordered Ilium's engine guards, which were highly recommended by RT riders. I am not a mechanic, but I had no trouble installing them.

http://www.iliumworks.com/BMW_Motorcycle_Accessories.cfm?pn=30-200&pID=104

ilium-bar.jpg

Last edited: