• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

R100RS - any difference in mpg?

ohiorider

I've been riding my 1991 R100GS since 1991. She now has 111,000 on the odometer. A recent carb rebuild boosted average mileage from high 30's into low 40s. My question ..... does the fairing system on the R100RS improve mileage? It certainly looks more aerodynamic than my GS. Is it possible for any of the old airhead RS's, especially those with 32mm Bings, to come close to 50mpg?

Bob

I have never heard of an Airhead getting close to 50 mpg. I have an RS fairing on mine and it is only a 800 and I am happy with high 30's or low 40's. I believe that the state of tune does matter, but more than anything how hard/fast/type of riding you do that dictates the mileage. But the Airheads have never been know to get great on mileage, especially when you go over 80mph, I have always considered them very thirsty. If you want a BMW with great mileage you need to get F 650 or the F 800. My food for thought anyway... :eat :drink

On my 75 R90/6 with an RS fairing I get around 45 mpg. One time on the Blue Ridge Park Way after being stopped for speeding I was getting more than 50 miles to the gallon.

Don