• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Clutch Question for Tinkerers...

Hi All,

I'm a newbie, and I just got a /6.

Is there any way to modify the lever on the clutch to bring it closer to the handlebar?

It's a stretch for the ol' hand and gives me a cramp on long trips or stop and go. Feels too far away.

Just call me "Small-hands McGee," I guess. :blush :laugh

I know at least one of you guys knows...

Thanks!

What style of levers do you have? My /7 levers have a bit of a dogbone in them...not sure why that was done other than to move them closer to the bar and/or give more leverage...maybe more ergonomic. They don't have the cutouts for the fingers. I wonder if they can be used on a /6??

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/partgrp.do?model=0267&mospid=47837&hg=32&fg=10

Most of what I've read is to bend the lever. It's best to use some heat in the bend area to maintain the temper of the aluminum. Check out Duane's site:

http://www.softcom.net/users/w6rec/duane/bmw/control/controls.htm

Something else I read was to use spacers up at the hand grip and/or weld onto the clutch lever at the back of the tranny so that the clutch lever bottoms out sooner. You'd probably have to study the mechanism to figure out what to do.