• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

K1300GT has covid?? (mystery start fail)

brbnhuntr

K1300GT has covid?? (mystery start fail) (SOLVED!)

Hi all! I'm new to MOA (just joined earlier this year after buying my barely-used 2010 K1300GT back in Nov 2017), and first tried to use the many Search functions before posting my newbie-needs-help thread on what I'm hoping ends up me saying "duh!"

I last rode the bike in spring a few times... new battery installed back then... loaded with gas... but it sat over the summer with no riding and no starting. I'm in northern NJ and figured I'd better take advantage of these last few sunny/warm days to get a few rides in before winterizing.

Rolled it out of the heated garage after removing tender, turned key on... heard whining of the fuel pump... pushed started button... engine is healthfully cranking and turning... all lights are normal on the dash... but it doesn't start. Did that for 6-7 attempts and then rolled it back in.

Repeated the same exercise the next day with same result.

Hmm. Weird, imo. All seems fine with the bike. But am I missing something simple? Yes, it's in neutral... plenty of charge (again, new battery in spring, sitting on tender in heated garage year-round, etc).

Any thoughts, wisdom and advice will be appreciated. THANKS!

Glenn

Last edited:
Possibly a sidestand or neutral switch stuck or malfunctioning? If the bike is recognizing neutral the SS switch shouldn’t matter, but worth a test anyway.