• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Just took the "Maximum Control 1" course and wow!

gbernier

Hi All,

About a year ago, I returned to riding after a 13 year hiatus and on impulse bought a very lightly used 2013 R1200RT with only 5400 miles. It is the dream bike I had been pining over for those 13 years. I tried to do it smartly and took some private riding lessons as a refresher and since have put about 6,000 miles in the last 11 months. I love the bike and I love riding it but before I got too overconfident, I felt it was a good time to take some more real training...the RT is a little top heavy and my slow speed maneuvering needed some help.

This past Saturday, I took MotoMark1's Maximum Control 1 day long class in Burlington, NC (https://www.motomark1.com/coarse/2-wheel-coarse-10/). This class was perfect for me and the timing could not have been better. I highly recommend it for any rider that needs a brush up on slow speed bike handling. The class is predominantly cone drills, mixed in with breaks to review and critique video taken during the drills. The instruction starts with basic in line cone weaving while the instructors provide feedback and correction through the helmet intercom, progressing through offset cone weaving and ending with about 20 foot tight circles. The day ended with an incredible confidence booster "follow the leader" exercise doing turns, weaves, circles and direction changes that I could have never done a mere 6 hrs earlier!