• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

1996 R1100RSL Gear storage questions

flydad

I’m new to BMW, just bought 96 R1100RS and am getting acclimated. Now noticing no fairing storage compartments, no passenger back rest, no tail luggage rack and, from what I have been able to find so far, no way to fix the problem. So now I ask the EXPERTS: what’s needed to fit a rear rest and/or trunk? I have the OEM saddlebags. Also, is there any provision for storage in the fairing? Finally, best advise on a tank bag? (Until yesterday, I thought the tank was steel!)
Thanks
David

I gotta ‘94 R1100RS. I’ve done all the upgrades. If I knew from the beginning what was ahead, I might have chose another bike. The basic bike is a good platform, but. I started with a low mileage model in ‘96, came with a set of oem bags. Nice as far as it went. Endless additions. Oem tankbag, soft luggage for saddlebags, oem rear rack support bars, oem RT rear rack, nice used RT oem trunk. Scuffed up the bag lids, so instead of fixing, I added the big lids. Hey, the bags now hold a large full face helmet, no problem. I did a lot of other upgrades, but I think this covers your question about how to carry and store stuff. :brow