• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

• Beginning April 1st, and running through April 30th, there is a new 2024 BMW MOA Election discussion area within The Club section of the forum. Within this forum area is also a sticky post that provides the ground rules for participating in the Election forum area. Also, the candidates statements are provided. Please read before joining the conversation, because the rules are very specific to maintain civility.

The Election forum is here: Election Forum

Noob here.. First motorcycle should be a?

Is a 750 GS a good beginner bike?

• Total voters

Titos750

Hello everyone! Im excited to finally start riding!

I'm new to motorcycles, used to ride an automatic dirt bike as a kid. I'm looking to get a 750 GS. Really wanted a 310 gs to start but I cant find one and the dealer is taking forever to ship the one they found. They cant give it to me with the a recall so that has to be taken care of first. long story

So I guess my question, is a 750 GS too much bike for a beginner like myself? I feel like Id out grow a 310 quickly and than have to buy another bike. So it makes sense to make a purchase that will last me for many years. On the flip side I dont want to get hurt not learn as well as I should be.

Also, sorry if this question was asked. I searched in the search box and didnt see a thread like this.

Welcome from the coast of Kansas.

Yes, a 750-anything is probably too much bike for a beginner. Good luck, I think you are going to need it.