• Welcome Guest! If you are already a member of the BMW MOA, please log in to the forum in the upper right hand corner of this page. Check "Remember Me?" if you wish to stay logged in.

We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMWMOA forum provides. Why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the club magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMWMOA offers?

Want to read the MOA monthly magazine for free? Take a 3-month test ride of the magazine; check here for details.

• NOTE. Some content will be hidden from you. If you want to view all content, you must register for the forum if you are not a member, or if a member, you must be logged in.

Resistance on 1955 R25/3 ignition coil

Dave -

I'm not very good with electrickery, but I'm trying to dig through some things. The singles were all battery-coil ignition, whereas the twins were magneto ignitions. I've found out that the coils on the R24-R26 were all basically the same, but things were different for the R27. I believe the generator was a Norris (or maybe Noris) L 45/60. Googling that doesn't help much, but I have a few feelers out for some info on the coil resistance.

Thank you

Dave -

I'm not very good with electrickery, but I'm trying to dig through some things. The singles were all battery-coil ignition, whereas the twins were magneto ignitions. I've found out that the coils on the R24-R26 were all basically the same, but things were different for the R27. I believe the generator was a Norris (or maybe Noris) L 45/60. Googling that doesn't help much, but I have a few feelers out for some info on the coil resistance.

Thanks again Kurt!

Sorting out the terrible wiring the PO did. All lights working along with neutral.

The info I got was that the primary resistance should be around 1.5 ohms while the secondary resistance should be about 6K ohms.