Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: '16 R1200RT - Power for an EzCAN

  1. #1

    '16 R1200RT - Power for an EzCAN

    Is there somewhere other than direct wiring onto the battery where I can pick up power for an EzCAN? The battery compartment is so tight, that squeezing an extra pair of wires in there is very difficult, and makes removing the battery a trial.

  2. #2
    Registered User LFarling's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Harrisburg, PA
    Posts
    424
    It is recommended to ONLY put it to the battery or a fuse block. Plenty of us have done it so while not easy it is not to difficult at all. You just use the red jump start plug and the battery's ground, it is just not a issue.
    Lee
    2017.5 R 1200 GSW

  3. #3
    Addicted to curves azgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    1,184
    I agree, you need to go directly to the battery with a fuse as close to the battery terminal as possible.
    MOA #107139
    RA #28511

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Southeastern VA
    Posts
    155
    Many of these comments seem to imply that the installation is complex and/or requires additional components. The EzCan and CanSmart are designed to be connected directly to the battery or the jump posts. The devices come with an inline fuse. The hardest part is running cables to what ever items you are powering.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by pkpilot View Post
    ...... The EzCan and CanSmart are designed to be connected directly to the battery or the jump posts. The devices come with an inline fuse. ....
    Thanks pkpilot as your reply goes to the heart of my question. Where are the Jump Posts, as I was unaware of their existance?
    Last edited by stinkypete; 12-27-2019 at 09:01 AM.

  6. #6
    Registered User wbrownell9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    New Castle, DE
    Posts
    423
    Every electrical accessory manufacturer wants their gizmo to be hooked directly to the battery through their (fused) harness. That's not necessary. I know I'm not the only person to hook them up to a PDM60, Neutrino, PowerHub or similar. Yes, even my EZCAN.

    Doing it that way means there's only one connection to the battery, it's neater because you don't need to find room for all of the fuse holders (battery tender, heated gear, ezCAN,...) There's certainly a "moment of truth" when you cut off the manufacturer's ring terminal and fuse holder, there's no turning back from there.
    2020 R1250 GSA Low

  7. #7
    Registered User Motodan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    2,404
    Quote Originally Posted by stinkypete View Post
    Thanks pkpilot as your reply goes to the heart of my question. Where are the Jump Posts, as I was unaware of their existance?

    The manual....look in the owners manual. One post is off set to right of battery. Ya don't need to take battery out or even move it. Hook up post showing itself to side of bike and the other post is just remotely inches away.
    '19 F850GSA - '18 Z900RS

    MOA #46783

Similar Threads

  1. EZCAN Issue
    By plock in forum Wetheads
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-08-2020, 03:57 PM
  2. Gen 2 EZCan plus Skene P3
    By cap in forum Wetheads
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-16-2019, 06:17 PM
  3. Hex EZCan and Centech AP-2
    By bicyclenut in forum Hexheads/Camheads
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-20-2018, 03:15 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-01-2018, 08:50 PM
  5. R1200RT.. MP3 power
    By blkb1rd in forum Hexheads/Camheads
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-25-2008, 03:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •