Thread: Soon to be new R1250RT owner

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Soon to be new R1250RT owner

Hello everyone,

I'm excited to be a part of the BMW family (or will be this weekend). I'm taking delivery of my first ever BMW. A 2019 R1250RT!

I've been riding for 14 years and I've owned too many bikes to list. From Kawasaki Connie 14's to three FJRs to Victory's, Harleys and a GL1800. To say I get bored easily is an understatement!!!

I'm hoping this new replacement (trading a 2018 HD Ultra Limited and a 2017 Yamaha FZ 09) will check off most; if not all of my boxes to the point that I actually keep this one for awhile.

Anyway; I'm looking forward to learning as much as I can about my specific bike and BMW motorcycles in general.

Thanks in advance,

Paul Healey
    Cincinnati, OH

Welcome, Paul.

My first and only beemer is an '03 R1150RT I bought last November. I am continually amazed at how comfortable, how easy to ride and how much fun it is. A guy on one of the other forums I frequent said it best: "RTs are magic."

Thanks, Roger

Hey Paul-

Welcome. I am new to BMWs too. Bought my first one this June a '15 R1200RT. So far it is AWESOME! Like you I am coming from a Harley touring bike to the BMW RT. The comparisons I keep making are Summa wrestler to ballerina.

I would say to enjoy your new RT but I know you will.

Dress for fall & avoid it AlanColes's Avatar
    Welcome, Paul. Hope you enjoy the R1250RT as much as I do.

It is different for each rider but there are some generalities that tend to hold true. First, you've definitely noticed the significant difference in weight between the two. The Harley is extremely good at masking its weight especially in slow-speed running, where the RT can make it's higher centre of gravity more apparent, but they are both very good at this, just somewhat different.