Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Tire pressure monitor

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    231

    Tire pressure monitor

    Bikes
    2014 R12GS with TPM
    2017 R12GS with TPM.
    I swapped the tires/wheels assembly between the two bikes.
    (Why does not matter)
    Everything bolted up fine.
    ABS works fine.
    But the tire pressure does not register on either bike. And a few miles later the yellow triangle low tire press warning light comes on.
    Is there a fix that is garage friendly, without going to the dealer to reset?
    Thanks

    David H

  2. #2
    Registered User wbrownell9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    New Castle, DE
    Posts
    401
    You definitely have to tell the bike about the different sensors before they'll talk to one another.

    If not a dealer, maybe a GS-911 or the like can do it? I have the Motoscan app that uses a Bluetooth dongle that plugs into the diagnostic connector. If you go that route and have a round connector, you'll need an adapter cable too. AFIK the 2017.5 and up bikes have the regular rectangular OBDII connector, earlier ones have the round one.
    2016 R1200 GSA

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Wills Point, TX
    Posts
    479
    Quote Originally Posted by wbrownell9 View Post
    You definitely have to tell the bike about the different sensors before they'll talk to one another.

    If not a dealer, maybe a GS-911 or the like can do it? I have the Motoscan app that uses a Bluetooth dongle that plugs into the diagnostic connector. If you go that route and have a round connector, you'll need an adapter cable too. AFIK the 2017.5 and up bikes have the regular rectangular OBDII connector, earlier ones have the round one.
    GS-911 does this very easily if the sensors are awake, you may need a wake up tool. https://www.amazon.com/VXDAS-EL-5044...FBRC4EVQFGY8V3 . The bike can have 2 different sensors front/rear (so you can swap the wheel out) but bike needs to learn each sensor.

Similar Threads

  1. Tire Pressure Monitor
    By apbehnen in forum Wetheads
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 09-23-2019, 05:35 PM
  2. Smart Tire Pressure Monitor
    By hottech in forum Oilheads
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-23-2012, 01:32 PM
  3. Tire pressure monitor system
    By Rtinger in forum Hexheads/Camheads
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 01-15-2011, 04:55 PM
  4. Tire pressure monitor...
    By NESS in forum Campfire
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-28-2009, 11:28 PM
  5. Tire Pressure Monitor Systems
    By jcridge in forum Gear
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 04-26-2009, 10:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •