• Welcome Guest! If you are already a member of the BMW MOA, please log in to the forum in the upper right hand corner of this page. Check "Remember Me?" if you wish to stay logged in.

We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMWMOA forum provides. Why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the club magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMWMOA offers?

Want to read the MOA monthly magazine for free? Take a 3-month test ride of the magazine; check here for details.

• NOTE. Some content will be hidden from you. If you want to view all content, you must register for the forum if you are not a member, or if a member, you must be logged in.

F800GS Starting Issues 24k miles

vrybl

Team, I bought this 2009 800GS just before winter. All winter long bike sat on battery tender (BT), about 2 month ago I started riding, the bike would start with no issues, but would have a hard time starting once the engine got warm, it would turn over but then would quickly die, I changed the battery as it looked to be the original BMW. With new (March '19) battery (Yuasa) bike started hot, cold with no issues.

I ride once or twice a week ...jump two month forward to yesterday, bike would not start again, it would make 2-3 clicks and go dead, would not start from a running car jump start either, same symptoms. Voltage meter showed 11.4 volts between the terminals, I connected it to the battery tender (BT) overnight and today bike fired up like new, now it shows 12.9 volts. Yesterday BT showed red, today 24 hrs later BT showed green, after I started the bike, let it run 5 min, shut it off, all good, but is something killing the battery?

Looking forward to your knowledge here.

V+

There is a natural small draw on the battery to keep the time. Are there any other accessories that have been installed?

How many miles are on your bike?