Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Gloves- protection, non- bulky

Gloves- protection, non- bulky

Posted this on another site as well...

Finally going to buy some real MC gloves, and looking for a glove that maximizes protection and is basically a 3 season glove. My search is motivated by an upcoming RawHyde course- they require a better glove than the Walmart ones I currently use.
    Not looking to spend crazy money, and not necessarily looking for hockey gloves either.
    Any recommendations? I'm a 99% street rider.

RK Ryder
    I have been wearing Held gloves for a few years. They are such a good fit that I do not need to remove them to access a credit card at a gas stop. They have a hard knuckle which is not uncomfortable nor noticeable when riding. However I have yet to go down (thankfully) to actually road test them.
    Paul
    Retired and riding my RTs, the '87 K100 & the '98 R1100 !
    Niagara Riders & Knights of the Roundel #333

Contact me and become a Volunteer in Lebanon! rallyvolunteers@bmwmoa.org

I have a 10+ year old pair of Aerostich Elkskin Ropers. They are under $50 and worth more. They have been used mainly for commuting and weekend sport. Used with a pair of light liner gloves they will work deep into the fall/winter season. (I have hand guards and heated grips on my Roadster.) Summer touring across the Plains in 100+ temps they are a bit warm but not bad enough to justify a lighter extra pair. Off to the bike they are my regular glove for work and play.

They come in natural or dyed black leather. I have the black and would recommend the natural. After more than a decade they still bleed a bit of black in a downpour.

Mine are wrist length. I think they offer a gauntlet length. There are pro and cons to both.

I would love to replace them. They were going to be a short term glove while I looked for the right glove, but they are comfortable and in very good condition after years of use and abuse and I keep using them.