Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Help resetting trip meter

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Vestavia Hills, AL
    Posts
    72

    Help resetting trip meter

    Need help resetting the trip meter on my 2018 R 1200 GSA. I can't figure this out and my rider's manual is no help. Thank you and ride safe.

  2. #2
    Liaison 20774's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    20,458
    Just so that people don't totally freak out, I'm going to add some context to your thread title. Might help with some searching as well.
    Kurt -- Forum Liaison ---> Resources and Links Thread <---
    '78 R100/7 & '69 R69S & '52 R25/2
    mine-ineye-deatheah-pielayah-jooa-kalayus. oolah-minane-hay-meeriah-kal-oyus-algay-a-thaykin', buddy!

  3. #3
    Fortis Fortuna Adiuvat Omega Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mansfield,MA
    Posts
    14,086
    One 'splaination-
    To reset the trip menu down twice to the motorcycle picture and scroll right to "onboard computer" then menu down once then scroll down to "reset individual values" then scroll right then scroll down to "current" and scroll right once more to reset it. BMW designed it to be easy.
    On the F800GS, to remember which button it was, I painted it Hot Pink. Probably bad for the 'puter screen.
    OM
    "You can do good or you can do well. Sooner or later they make you choose." MI5
    Mod Squad
    2009 F800GS 1994 TW200

  4. #4
    SURVIVOR akbeemer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Big Sky Country
    Posts
    7,354
    Assuming your 2018 is like my 2017..... which tripmeter are you talking about ; there are five. All five are viewed on the Nav VI, only three are visible on the dash display. The GPS has an A and a B trip that can only be viewed and reset on the GPS. The motorcycle also has a Trip 1, Trip 2 and Trip Automatic. The automatic meter resets on its own. Trip 1 and Trip 2 can be reset using the Trip button on the left side handlebar switch cluster. Scroll thru the menu using the trip button until you get to Trip 1 or 2. Once on the appropriate tripmeter press and hold the button until it zeros. This is all covered in my owner’s manual I believe.

    To zero the Trip A and B meters on the GPS go to the Trip Data screen (you will have to search for this screen in the menu. You can put a shortcut button on your navigation screen) and depress the menu icon in the upper left corner. Then select the reset option.

    I’m doing this from memory and under the aforementioned assumption.
    Kevin Huddy
    The Outpost, Silver City, Montana

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Vestavia Hills, AL
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by 20774 View Post
    Just so that people don't totally freak out, I'm going to add some context to your thread title. Might help with some searching as well.
    Thank you brother.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Vestavia Hills, AL
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by akbeemer View Post
    Assuming your 2018 is like my 2017..... which tripmeter are you talking about ; there are five. All five are viewed on the Nav VI, only three are visible on the dash display. The GPS has an A and a B trip that can only be viewed and reset on the GPS. The motorcycle also has a Trip 1, Trip 2 and Trip Automatic. The automatic meter resets on its own. Trip 1 and Trip 2 can be reset using the Trip button on the left side handlebar switch cluster. Scroll thru the menu using the trip button until you get to Trip 1 or 2. Once on the appropriate tripmeter press and hold the button until it zeros. This is all covered in my owner’s manual I believe.

    To zero the Trip A and B meters on the GPS go to the Trip Data screen (you will have to search for this screen in the menu. You can put a shortcut button on your navigation screen) and depress the menu icon in the upper left corner. Then select the reset option.

    I’m doing this from memory and under the aforementioned assumption.
    I don't have a GPS. On the top of my screen is trip 1 and trip 2. I don't have a trip button on the left handlebar switch cluster. Our bikes must be a little different.

  7. #7
    Registered User totgas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Brisbane / Australia
    Posts
    30
    Turn bike on (must be stationary)
    Press [Menu] button
    Keep pressing menu button until "Trip 1" is displayed
    Push selector wheel to the right (wait)
    Trip meter will zero out

    Scroll down if you want to repeat process for "Trip 2"
    Regards,
    A.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Vestavia Hills, AL
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by totgas View Post
    Turn bike on (must be stationary)
    Press [Menu] button
    Keep pressing menu button until "Trip 1" is displayed
    Push selector wheel to the right (wait)
    Trip meter will zero out

    Scroll down if you want to repeat process for "Trip 2"
    Regards,
    A.
    Just went out to the bike and followed your directions. Nothing! There must be some additional steps I'm missing. Here is what I tried:
    turned the bike on
    pressed the menu button to settings
    scrolled down to display
    scrolled down to trip 1
    pushed the selector wheel to the right and trip 1 turned off. I turned it back on and the same miles displayed before where there.
    Any ideas?
    Thanks for your help.

  9. #9
    Registered User wbrownell9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    New Castle, DE
    Posts
    397
    Quote Originally Posted by 1hpyrider View Post
    Just went out to the bike and followed your directions. Nothing! There must be some additional steps I'm missing. Here is what I tried:
    turned the bike on
    pressed the menu button to settings
    scrolled down to display
    scrolled down to trip 1
    pushed the selector wheel to the right and trip 1 turned off. I turned it back on and the same miles displayed before where there.
    Any ideas?
    Thanks for your help.
    You have to HOLD the wonderwheel to the right until it resets. Takes a few seconds, it's not instantaneous.
    2016 R1200 GSA

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Vestavia Hills, AL
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by wbrownell9 View Post
    You have to HOLD the wonderwheel to the right until it resets. Takes a few seconds, it's not instantaneous.
    Thank you. Tried your directions and it still does not work. Looks like I will have to call my dealer Tuesday.

  11. #11
    Registered User patm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    363
    Would this be what you're looking for: page 60 in the GSA Owner's manual?

    2018-11-11 19_31_44-R_0A02_RM_0717_01 (1).pdf.png
    Pat

    Ride Safe!
    '16 RT

  12. #12
    Debbie's Servant Lee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    6,197
    Quote Originally Posted by patm View Post
    Would this be what you're looking for: page 60 in the GSA Owner's manual?

    2018-11-11 19_31_44-R_0A02_RM_0717_01 (1).pdf.png
    The OP does not have a trip button.
    Lee
    2016 R1200RS
    MOA # 30878
    Past BMW Bikes: 2011 K1300S, 2003 K1200RS, 1991 K75S, 1987 K75T, 1984 R100RT

  13. #13
    Debbie's Servant Lee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    6,197
    Quote Originally Posted by 1hpyrider View Post
    I don't have a GPS. On the top of my screen is trip 1 and trip 2. I don't have a trip button on the left handlebar switch cluster. Our bikes must be a little different.
    Do you have the TFT dash?
    Last edited by Lee; 11-12-2018 at 02:51 PM.
    Lee
    2016 R1200RS
    MOA # 30878
    Past BMW Bikes: 2011 K1300S, 2003 K1200RS, 1991 K75S, 1987 K75T, 1984 R100RT

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Vestavia Hills, AL
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by patm View Post
    Would this be what you're looking for: page 60 in the GSA Owner's manual?

    2018-11-11 19_31_44-R_0A02_RM_0717_01 (1).pdf.png
    No sir. The button you are showing, trip, on my bike is the menu button. My bike is an 18 GSA with the TFT screen.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Vestavia Hills, AL
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by Lee View Post
    Do you gave the TFT dash?
    Yes.

Similar Threads

  1. '95 K75 Instrument Trip Meter
    By 72r60/7 in forum Flying Brick K-bikes
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-04-2017, 08:27 PM
  2. Gut the trip meter?
    By 140008 in forum Airheads
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-22-2012, 01:27 AM
  3. Trip Meter A & B 2008 R1200RT
    By chriso83 in forum Hexheads/Camheads
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-23-2011, 05:15 AM
  4. RT1100 Trip Meter
    By winkwm in forum Oilheads
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-19-2010, 01:51 AM
  5. 650 Trip-o-meter
    By TIGINBNA in forum Thumpers - F & G bikes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-04-2006, 02:23 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •