Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Looking for help - Accessory Power 2017 R1200RT

  1. #1

    Looking for help - Accessory Power 2017 R1200RT

    Hello All,

    I recently purchased a 2017 R1200RT. This is my first CAN bus bike and I am clueless as to how I will setup accessory power for my Autocom system (I know, I'm a dinosaur that does not care for bluetooth headsets) I have the Navigator VI and plan to interface it with my Autocom SPA system which I have a Autocom Bluetooth module.

    Can anyone provide direction on were I might find connectors on the bike and what accessories I might need? I do not wish to splice/pierce/cut the bikes stock wiring if it not necessary.

    Thanks for reading my post and appreciate any advice you might offer.

    Regards,

    Keith

  2. #2
    Fortis Fortuna Adiuvat Omega Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mansfield,MA
    Posts
    13,085
    Welcome to the forum!
    There is quite a bit of help at/in the threads at the bottom of the page in the similar threads section. There is quite a bit in the sticky here-
    https://forums.bmwmoa.org/showthread...Mods-and-DIY-s
    I'm sure more members will check in later with more hints.
    Gary
    I'm going to add to your title so it looks less like an emergency
    "You can do good or you can do well. Sooner or later they make you choose." MI5
    Mod Squad
    2009 F800GS 1994 TW200

  3. #3
    I have set up my 2016 RT with a hard wired Starcom1 Digital, so I faced similar problems. Here are three options for picking up power.....

    1. Plug into the accessroy power point on the rear left side beside the pillion seat. This is the simplest solution.
    2. Take power direct from the battery, as I think that plugging in the rider's helmet turns the Autocom on and off
    3. Install a CanSmart Coltroller https://denalielectronics.com/cansmart-controller and you can tap into four power outlets for whatever you want to install. I have gone down this path and my CanSmart controlls my spotties and powers my Starcom.

  4. #4
    Registered User totgas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Brisbane / Australia
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by stinkypete View Post
    I have set up my 2016 RT with a hard wired Starcom1 Digital, so I faced similar problems. Here are three options for picking up power.....

    1. Plug into the accessroy power point on the rear left side beside the pillion seat. This is the simplest solution.
    2. Take power direct from the battery, as I think that plugging in the rider's helmet turns the Autocom on and off
    3. Install a CanSmart Coltroller https://denalielectronics.com/cansmart-controller and you can tap into four power outlets for whatever you want to install. I have gone down this path and my CanSmart controlls my spotties and powers my Starcom.
    No offence Pete, however
    1. Accessory plug will trip if too much power is sourced. If you want to run the Autocom and nothing else you may get away with it, however you will still need to cut into the wiring.
    2. Direct to battery is the best -Mandatory add a fuse and preferably a fuse block (best location - left front wing). Remember negative to battery as well.
    3. CanSmart - Expensive as far as I'm concerned ($250 + Postage) and has limited use for accessories - Max of 4.

    Regards,
    A.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by totgas View Post
    No offence Pete, however
    1. Accessory plug will trip if too much power is sourced. If you want to run the Autocom and nothing else you may get away with it, however you will still need to cut into the wiring.
    2. Direct to battery is the best -Mandatory add a fuse and preferably a fuse block (best location - left front wing). Remember negative to battery as well.
    3. CanSmart - Expensive as far as I'm concerned ($250 + Postage) and has limited use for accessories - Max of 4.

    Regards,
    A.
    Hi Totgas. I agree that the CanSmart is a bit pricey, but it does a great job and avoids problems with the CanBus system, while giving extra switched power outlets. I used the CanSmart "Brake Circut" output to power my Starcom which is fused at 2A, and the Cansmart CanSmart "Brake Circut" is rated to 2A so that worked out well. The Accessory Plug under the rear seat drops out at 10A so I reckon there is plenty of power there for an Autocom. It would be an option to plug an accessory plug inot the socket to power the Autocom and route the cable back under the seat and is probably the simplest way to power a device, but not the neatest. I agree that direct to the battery is best.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-01-2018, 08:50 PM
  2. Accessory Power Socket Kit Photos
    By nevadaslim in forum Airheads
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-04-2015, 06:52 PM
  3. Placement of 2nd Accessory Power Port?
    By bmws4ken in forum Gear
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-08-2014, 10:15 AM
  4. Additional power accessory-2009 F650GS
    By 177850 in forum F-Twins
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-19-2012, 09:45 PM
  5. Accessory power for K75C
    By DEANCOX in forum Flying Brick K-bikes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-20-2005, 03:16 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •