Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: 2015 rt tpms

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Adairsville GA
    Posts
    27

    2015 rt tpms

    I need to replace the TPMS on my 2015 RT. Can anyone tell me the proper torque on the hollow bolt that holds it to the wheel? Thanks in advance!
    '15 1200RT

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Wills Point, TX
    Posts
    586
    The torque is 9 Nm be sure to use Loctite 243, Medium strength

    Jay

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Arvada, CO
    Posts
    785
    Quote Originally Posted by rockosmith View Post
    I need to replace the TPMS on my 2015 RT. Can anyone tell me the proper torque on the hollow bolt that holds it to the wheel? Thanks in advance!
    Hi Rocko, can you describe what happened and how it manifested? IOW, did pressure just stop displaying, go intermittent, or what have you? I ask because I was having that issue on both front and rear immediately after changing tires 2 months ago. It continued this erratic behavior for 3.3K miles then resolved completely. It's a '16 RT.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Adairsville GA
    Posts
    27
    Thanks Jay. That is exactly the info I was looking for.

    The pressure indication started to take longer than normal to display. It progressed to showing no pressure long enough to trigger the dash warning. Some days it worked normally, others not. My rear sensor displayed exactky the same symptoms shortly before the warranty expired. Dealer installed new TOMS and all ok. Planning tomorrow to install one I got online, it has the BMW part number on it and is a Schrader unit. Counting on the GS911 to be able to allow the bike to recognize it.
    '15 1200RT

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Wills Point, TX
    Posts
    586
    Quote Originally Posted by rockosmith View Post
    Thanks Jay. That is exactly the info I was looking for.

    The pressure indication started to take longer than normal to display. It progressed to showing no pressure long enough to trigger the dash warning. Some days it worked normally, others not. My rear sensor displayed exactky the same symptoms shortly before the warranty expired. Dealer installed new TOMS and all ok. Planning tomorrow to install one I got online, it has the BMW part number on it and is a Schrader unit. Counting on the GS911 to be able to allow the bike to recognize it.
    If the Schrader senor comes with the senor ID the GS911 will work but if not the senor will need to be woken up. You can find cheap tools that work for less then $20, it's a EL-50488 see this https://www.bmwlt.com/forums/gs-seri...e-up-tool.html . I have a more expensive tool ATEQ V-31

    Jay

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Adairsville GA
    Posts
    27
    Mission successful. Tried to wake up my internet sensor with my ultra cheap internet wake up tool, discovered that with no screen on the tool, I had no way to know if it woke up or obtain the 7 digit code even if it did. Took the sensor to a tire store and they were able to wake it up and give me the code. Used a GS 911 to manually enter the code into the bike, changed out the sensor and all is good now. Paid $27.00 for the sensor instead of $200+ from a dealer.
    '15 1200RT

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Wills Point, TX
    Posts
    586
    Quote Originally Posted by rockosmith View Post
    Mission successful. Tried to wake up my internet sensor with my ultra cheap internet wake up tool, discovered that with no screen on the tool, I had no way to know if it woke up or obtain the 7 digit code even if it did. Took the sensor to a tire store and they were able to wake it up and give me the code. Used a GS 911 to manually enter the code into the bike, changed out the sensor and all is good now. Paid $27.00 for the sensor instead of $200+ from a dealer.
    I didn't need to enter the sensor ID into the GS911 it picked it up from the sensor once I had it awoken. My ATEQ-V31 does display the sensor ID but didn't need it. I was running the current version GS911 software on my 14R1200RT. I've seen the need to enter the ID manually into the GS911 on later RT, I don't know if this is because of the bike or software.

    Jay

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Adairsville GA
    Posts
    27
    My GS 911 gave the option of learning a new sensor but I had no success with that method. It is possible that the sensor was not really woken up or maybe it just takes longer than the few minutes I gave it to find the new sensor. At any rate, simply entering the 7 digit code worked.
    '15 1200RT

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Arvada, CO
    Posts
    785
    Quote Originally Posted by rockosmith View Post
    My rear sensor displayed exactky the same symptoms shortly before the warranty expired. Dealer installed new TOMS and all ok.
    Interesting and good for you. My dealer determined by reading codes that mine began dysfunctioning secondary to RF interference. Their best guess was that the new tire carcasses were sufficient to make make sensor the batteries fail to deliver a signal thru the tire so led to the RF-i. Mine manifested as failure to display pressures, in particular the rear tire, for many miles whereas prior to the tire change they always lit up immediately after exceeding the requisite 6mph. This lasted for 3,300 mile during a trip we took in late June. After returning home I set up an appt for a week later to go in to have them troubleshot. The day before the appt I went out for my first shorter ride post end of our trip, and voila both F/R sensors acted normally. That was almost 2 months ago now and they have worked flawlessly since. I was hoping they were clearly dying sensors so I could get them replaced but nope not this time. It's quite possible when I replace tires again w/ full thickness rubber the issue will manifest again. My sense is sensor batteries are at least as related to miles of use as they are to time elapsed since manufacture. So I'll be needing to replace mine sometime probably in the next year I have to guess. My warranty expires in another 500m.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Adairsville GA
    Posts
    27
    Both of mine showed the interference codes before replacement as well. Possibly as the batteries get older and weaker, at some point the signal gets too weak to get through the tires and everything else between the sensor and the receiver. FWIW my front one was acting up on a tire that was thoroughly worn out. It would be nice to get them under warranty as BMW wants upwards of $200 each plus install if you donít do it yourself.
    '15 1200RT

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Arvada, CO
    Posts
    785
    Quote Originally Posted by rockosmith View Post
    It would be nice to get them under warranty as BMW wants upwards of $200 each plus install if you don’t do it yourself.
    I know I wish! My shop says since they are working normally now BMW will not authorize replacement of the sensors, even though I got the RF-i codes. I set up a troubleshooting visit along w/ valve check and plugs a week after returning home and did not expect TPMS to suddenly fix itself so that by the time I got to that shop appt all was well except the fault codes. Sucks! And I've had no warranty claims on this beast.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Adairsville GA
    Posts
    27
    Well, that just stinks. Hope they hard fail and soon!
    '15 1200RT

  13. #13
    Registered User ballen262's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    N. Idaho
    Posts
    91
    Quote Originally Posted by ncpbmw1953 View Post
    Interesting and good for you. My dealer determined by reading codes that mine began dysfunctioning secondary to RF interference. Their best guess was that the new tire carcasses were sufficient to make make sensor the batteries fail to deliver a signal thru the tire so led to the RF-i. Mine manifested as failure to display pressures, in particular the rear tire, for many miles whereas prior to the tire change they always lit up immediately after exceeding the requisite 6mph. This lasted for 3,300 mile during a trip we took in late June. After returning home I set up an appt for a week later to go in to have them troubleshot. The day before the appt I went out for my first shorter ride post end of our trip, and voila both F/R sensors acted normally. That was almost 2 months ago now and they have worked flawlessly since. I was hoping they were clearly dying sensors so I could get them replaced but nope not this time. It's quite possible when I replace tires again w/ full thickness rubber the issue will manifest again. My sense is sensor batteries are at least as related to miles of use as they are to time elapsed since manufacture. So I'll be needing to replace mine sometime probably in the next year I have to guess. My warranty expires in another 500m.
    Idea is go buy another set of new RA3 and put them on and see if the issue returns, that way you can take advantage of warranty, if the issue returns from new tires on that is.

    Just a thought, then you can put old tires back on.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Arvada, CO
    Posts
    785
    Quote Originally Posted by ballen262 View Post
    Idea is go buy another set of new RA3 and put them on and see if the issue returns, that way you can take advantage of warranty, if the issue returns from new tires on that is.

    Just a thought, then you can put old tires back on.
    Reasonable idea thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Tpms recommendations?
    By tangoalpha in forum Motorrad
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-16-2017, 12:16 AM
  2. TPMS sensors
    By KevinRT in forum Hexheads/Camheads
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 08-03-2016, 01:43 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-06-2015, 03:34 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-06-2015, 03:30 PM
  5. TPMS sensor buy
    By zweirad in forum Hexheads/Camheads
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-18-2014, 11:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •