Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Garmin Express Not Recognizing my Nav V

  1. #1
    Registered User DAVIDTN57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    34

    Garmin Express Not Recognizing my Nav V

    So I went to update my BMW Nav 5 with Garmin Express (using the Garmin supplied cable) and it doesn't recognize that it's connected to my Microsoft Surface laptop. Any others experience this? Any suggestions?

    As per Garmin Express I tried a different USB port and a different cable to no avail.

  2. #2
    Registered User lkraus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Central Ohio
    Posts
    1,465
    On various computers running Windows 10 I've had problems with devices not being recognized after an OS update. So far, I've been able to correct the problems by uninstalling the driver and then allowing Windows to re-discover the device and re-install the driver. Usually I do this through Device Manager, but you should be able to achieve the same result by uninstalling Garmin Express, and then re-install it.
    Larry
    2006 R1200RT

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Birmingham, AL
    Posts
    169
    On my Dell computer, I discovered my USB ports would turn off to save energy (I guess). Changing the setting to "Always On" helped in many cases w/updates.
    J Goertz
    BMW MOAL
    2015 BMW R1200RT
    2012 Triumph Bonneville SE

  4. #4
    Dress for fall & avoid it AlanColes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Bedford, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    900
    My experience has been that it seems to be an issue with the Garmin USB port not being recognized very quickly when connected to the PC or my Surface. Sometimes it will recognize the GPS within 1-3 seconds, but more often than not if will take 10-50 seconds and many times it can be 1-15 minutes!!! Kind of frustrating, and my two Garmin GPS units are the only things that seem to do that regularily. Other items emmory sticks, etc., usually connect and are recognized almost immediately, but Garmins seem to be difficult that way.

    Hopefully, yours will work if you just leave it and walk away to do something else for a while.
    Regards, Alan - President BMWONS - MOA Charter Club #097, BMWMOA/BMWRA/BMWONS/Airheads
    Current: '14 R1200RT / '06 Ducati ST3s / '91 R100GS / '86 R80RT / '75 R90S / '73 850 & '70 750 Commando Prev: '04 R1150RT / '81 Honda GL1100 / '77 Suzuki GS750 / '73 Norton 850 Commando

  5. #5
    Registered User DAVIDTN57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    34

    *update*

    SUCCESS - I was able to utilize Garmin Express on a old Dell running Windows 7. Go figure. It would be nice if Garmin would update their hardware possibilities for utilizing Garmin Express.

  6. #6
    Registered User patm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    231
    Is your pc a surface pro 3? I've heard of USB issues with some version of the microsoft surface pro 3 affecting usb connected devices.
    The issue, from what I recall was with the surface pro 3 usb driver, nothing to do with Garmin.
    Pat

    Ride Safe!
    '16 RT

  7. #7
    Registered User DAVIDTN57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by patm View Post
    Is your pc a surface pro 3? I've heard of USB issues with some version of the microsoft surface pro 3 affecting usb connected devices.
    The issue, from what I recall was with the surface pro 3 usb driver, nothing to do with Garmin.
    I'm running a MS Surface Book with Windows 10 Pro.

  8. #8
    Knight-Errant 1957mpd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Las Cruces,NM
    Posts
    120

    Garmin Express - Hardware

    Quote Originally Posted by DAVIDTN57 View Post
    It would be nice if Garmin would update their hardware possibilities for utilizing Garmin Express.
    I've been using Garmin Express on various Apple CPUs running OSX to update all my GPS toys for years. Works fine.

    (The maintenance CD-ROM for my 2010 K1300S on the other hand, is Windows-read only. I have to go to the University library to find a Windows machine to look at anything. The GS-911 was similar - the reason I did not even consider buying one until they released the operating system-agnostic WIFI version.)
    "Soló el que ensaya lo absurdo es capaz de conquistar lo imposible." Miguel de Unamuno 1905

    Mark - Las Cruces, NM - '10 K1300S and '17 R1200 GSA

  9. 05-28-2018, 07:52 PM
    Reason
    Not relevant

  10. #9
    Registered User AKsuited's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Southern Tier of New York
    Posts
    1,744
    Also check for an update for Garmin Express.

    I just did and there was one, which I installed.

    You won't be able to update your Nav V unless you have the latest version of Garmin Express installed.
    Last edited by AKsuited; 05-29-2018 at 09:27 PM.
    My fleet: 2015 R1200GS, 2017 Toyota Prius Prime (plug-in hybrid)

Similar Threads

  1. Garmin Express Update
    By ExGMan in forum Gear
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-16-2017, 02:53 AM
  2. Garmin Express and Garmin Map Update 2018.20
    By ExGMan in forum Motorrad
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 08-25-2017, 03:40 AM
  3. New Version of Garmin Express
    By ExGMan in forum Wetheads
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-07-2017, 02:40 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-25-2016, 11:46 AM
  5. Garmin Express Map Update (Again)
    By rockbottom in forum Gear
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-27-2013, 06:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •