Thread: Fuel Tank Dents

Fuel Tank Dents

I have a number of vintage motorcycles that have dents in the tanks. I would like to repair the dents before repainting, but I am unsure how to proceed. Does anyone have suggestions or direct experience with this kind of repair? Would appreciate some insight into this. Also, one of the tanks has rust issues and small (dime sized, or smaller) holes at the top rear. I am a competent welder (mig and gas), but would also appreciate ideas on this kind of repair.

You have a couple of options for the dents. There are body shops that offer "paintless dent removal" which is a procedure using special mandrels to push the dents out. There are stud guns that arc weld a stud to the dent which allows you to pull the dent out. Then there are fillers. Holes can be welded, but you can get warping. Holes can also be soldered up, using fine brass screen as a backer. In some cases, the repair is cost effective; in other cases not.

A friend took his tank into one of those places that fixes dents from the inside and was told the metal was too thick to get the dent out.
    Ambassador BMW MOA Ontario Canada
    President Niagara BMW Riders #298
    Knights of the Roundel #333
    1977 R100RS, (Retired) 1993 R100GS (just getting started)

When I bought my airhead I was talking to one of the guys that was in the garage and mentioned getting the dents out of the tank to him. He told me he filled the tanks with water and allowed them to freeze, the expanding ice would push the dent out.
    Now I am not saying this will work, but the concept makes you wonder if it will work and if it would cause other issues.

I have one of those stud welder dent puller units if the thread author happens to live close by.
    1994 R1100RS-(5/93)-,1974 R90/6 built 9/73,--1964 Triumph T100--1986 Concours

I would think on the ice freezing option you have little control over where the forces go and there's every possibility that the seams at the bottom would break.