Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Navigator 6 - How Big of a Micro SD Card?

  1. #1

    Navigator 6 - How Big of a Micro SD Card?

    Anyone know if a 64 G micro SD card will work in the Nav 6? I want to add a bunch of music. Other Garmin devices have size limitations.

    Anyone recommend a program to format a 64G card in FAT32? Won't work with standard WIN 10.......

  2. #2
    I found out some ansers to my own questions - BUT - how big a Micro SD card will the Navigator recognize? More music is better.

    The Navigator 6 will take a 64 G card, borrowed one from my wife and it works well. This was a fast, class 10 card by the way.

    There is a free program from HP, called HPUSBDisk.exe you can download via google. This will take a 32 G plus card and format it with FAT32. My WIN 10 system would not format a 64 G card with Microsoft tools.

    Now to get out and test volume levels, etc. The blue tooth was pretty simple to set up between phone, UClear communicator in Helmet and Navigator 6. Next to figure out hands free operations on the phone........

  3. #3
    Fortis Fortuna Adiuvat Omega Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mansfield,MA
    Posts
    11,902
    Good info
    OM
    "You can do good or you can do well. Sooner or later they make you choose." MI5
    Mod Squad
    2009 F800GS 1994 TW200

  4. #4
    Heartbeat of my R100GS Guenther's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    613

    The accessible storage for a FAT32 formatted disk is 32GB - no matter what!

    take a 32 G plus card and format it with FAT32
    The hp utility just ignores the larger size and puts the FAT32 structure on the SD card anyway. But that FAT32 structure STILL can only access 32GB.

    /Guenther

  5. #5
    Registered User wbrownell9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    New Castle, DE
    Posts
    270
    I put a card in my Nav V but am wondering if it was worth the $30. All I use my Nav for is routes. I do my routes in Base Camp and upload them to the Nav, and once I've used the route I erase it. I mean, I live on the East Coast so once I've gone from Valley of Fire NV to Lathrop CA I won't need that route again any time soon, and if I do it's on my laptop. Any waypoints on the route are imported, and I don't erase them. I've been using my Nav V this way for 4 years and over 100,000 miles and never needed the card. If you use it for music that's different.
    2016 R1200 GSA

  6. #6

    Thanks for the discussion

    Thanks for the discussion; might encourage me to try it again. I had my NavVI sync'd to my Packtalk for a while, but found the GPS audio volume difficult to set so decoupled it. (The main problem with the GPS was that I wasn't patient enough to adjust the GPS volume properly, and it was mismatched between my intercom and was way too loud compared to the intercom--I think that it would work fine if I took the time to balance things. Maybe I'll give it another try with my music on it. The main feature that I need is rider-to-rider communications, but, since I just re-formated my phone and no longer have any music on it, maybe I'll try putting the music on the GPS, instead, this time.)

  7. #7
    Heartbeat of my R100GS Guenther's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    613

    Correction: FAT32 allows disk sizes larger than 32GB

    Corrections: I looked at the hp tool again and indeed it works for volumes >=64GB (actually up-to ~8TB).

    /Guenther

  8. #8
    Guenther


    Thank you for the clarification.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by wbrownell9 View Post
    I put a card in my Nav V but am wondering if it was worth the $30. All I use my Nav for is routes. I do my routes in Base Camp and upload them to the Nav, and once I've used the route I erase it. I mean, I live on the East Coast so once I've gone from Valley of Fire NV to Lathrop CA I won't need that route again any time soon, and if I do it's on my laptop. Any waypoints on the route are imported, and I don't erase them. I've been using my Nav V this way for 4 years and over 100,000 miles and never needed the card. If you use it for music that's different.
    Is it available to store additional maps? I see I have 1.5Gb unused storage on the on board 8Gb and every time I do a map update it doesn't change much.

Similar Threads

  1. Brake micro switches
    By tycham in forum Wedge K-bikes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-07-2017, 10:50 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-11-2013, 03:05 AM
  3. Which Micro brews will be available.
    By MISTERMIKE in forum Rally Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 04-15-2007, 03:28 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •