Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 89

Thread: Time to get a new BMW

  1. #61

    Great thread

    IMG_1349.jpg

    Thanks Jeff and others for all the information and photos on this thread. There are some beautiful RT's coming down the line soon.
    R. Reece Mullins Ebony R1200RT (Gretchen)
    MOA # 143779
    MOA Charter Club #5 and #364
    SECMOA (BMW MOA secretary)

  2. #62
    BMW MOA co-founder bmwdean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Tucson, AZ, & Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,221
    Quote Originally Posted by rudyinla View Post
    Having a Nav integrated into a bike doesn't preclude adding another device if the rider chooses. My Garmin has sent me on the wrong path in cities and the wilderness quite a few times over the years. I download routes and music into my phone if I think cell service might be spotty. There's nothing keeping the bike manufacturers from installing satellite receivers. Sirius is satellite based, just on a different network. I still love paper maps though. They're fun to peruse.
    I have a Nav5 on my '15 RT and a Nav6 on my '17 RT. However, my AAA membership gives me access to all the paper maps for "free." Frankly, those are what I use The Navs are too hard to read on a moving motorcycle. Moreover, at my age I grew up with paper maps, not GPSs. So I use them. I like them.

    Don't laugh -- here is the GPS screen I use most often on my bikes. Now this is what I call easy to read! Love it!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Jeff Dean − BMW MOA Co-founder (1972)
    '17 R1200RT, '15 R1200RT, '67 R60/2, '69 R60US, '55 R67/3, '49 R24

  3. #63
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    So. Calif.
    Posts
    420
    Ambient Temp 82.4 deg. F: This happens to equal 28.0 deg. C. The ambient temps that are displayed are translations of Celsius temps and change in increments of 0.5C or 0.9F. Why doesn't BMW program Ambient Temp to read either whole degrees or half degrees F instead of up and down in 0.9 increments?

    The temp sensor must be sending a voltage signal whose ranges are first read in C and then converted to F. Seems to me it wouldn't be too tough to ask the incoming voltage to display F directly to nearest the half degree F instead of the weird 0.9F increments.
    '17 R1200GS.
    Priors: '16 R1200R, '14 R1200GS, '13 K1600GT, '08 R1200RT, '04 R1150RT, '05 R1200GS, '73 R75/5 (LWB).

  4. #64
    Registered User gsinnc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    297
    Quote Originally Posted by bmwdean View Post
    I have a Nav5 on my '15 RT and a Nav6 on my '17 RT. However, my AAA membership gives me access to all the paper maps for "free." Frankly, those are what I use The Navs are too hard to read on a moving motorcycle. Moreover, at my age I grew up with paper maps, not GPSs. So I use them. I like them.

    Don't laugh -- here is the GPS screen I use most often on my bikes. Now this is what I call easy to read! Love it!
    I believe that screen is only available on the Nav VI
    Ed Apelian
    When Life Throws You a Curve Lean into it!
    2012 R1200GSA Magma Red!
    2016 R1200RT- Platinum Bronze

  5. #65
    BMW MOA co-founder bmwdean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Tucson, AZ, & Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,221
    Quote Originally Posted by gsinnc View Post
    I believe that screen is only available on the Nav VI
    True. The Nav V will not receive data from the RT. It can only show GPS-generated info. Put the Nav VI on the same RT and it receives motorcycle generated data, like ambient temp, engine temp, and other info. That is it will show it if the m/c transmits it.
    Jeff Dean − BMW MOA Co-founder (1972)
    '17 R1200RT, '15 R1200RT, '67 R60/2, '69 R60US, '55 R67/3, '49 R24

  6. #66
    Registered User gsinnc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    297
    Quote Originally Posted by bmwdean View Post
    True. The Nav V will not receive data from the RT. It can only show GPS-generated info. Put the Nav VI on the same RT and it receives motorcycle generated data, like ambient temp, engine temp, and other info. That is it will show it if the m/c transmits it.
    Hmmm ... so does the Nav 6 also allow the RT to get all the added info the GS used to get with the Nav5?
    Ed Apelian
    When Life Throws You a Curve Lean into it!
    2012 R1200GSA Magma Red!
    2016 R1200RT- Platinum Bronze

  7. #67
    DigtlArtst
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    73
    Quote Originally Posted by bmwdean View Post
    I have a Nav5 on my '15 RT and a Nav6 on my '17 RT. However, my AAA membership gives me access to all the paper maps for "free." Frankly, those are what I use The Navs are too hard to read on a moving motorcycle. Moreover, at my age I grew up with paper maps, not GPSs. So I use them. I like them.

    Don't laugh -- here is the GPS screen I use most often on my bikes. Now this is what I call easy to read! Love it!
    Interesting -- that's one way to have a big speedometer readout while listening to the bike audio (since playing bike audio knocks out the bike's speedo readout).

  8. #68
    Registered User gsinnc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    297
    Quote Originally Posted by Digtlartst View Post
    Interesting -- that's one way to have a big speedometer readout while listening to the bike audio (since playing bike audio knocks out the bike's speedo readout).
    HA !! Someone else who hates the speedo is overridden by the bike Audio!
    Ed Apelian
    When Life Throws You a Curve Lean into it!
    2012 R1200GSA Magma Red!
    2016 R1200RT- Platinum Bronze

  9. #69
    Registered User marcopolo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Alexandria Virginia/Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    896
    Quote Originally Posted by gsinnc View Post
    I believe that screen is only available on the Nav VI
    Not quite correct. That screen is certainly available on the Nav V, but as pointed out, the RT was not able to transfer that sort of bike info to the Nav. I have a 2015 GSA, and have both a Nav V, and a Nav VI. I have been able to get bike info -- like that shown in the earlier photo, and more (up to sixteen data elements are possible at one time) -- on the V and the VI from the get go. That's because the GS/GSA were set up to send it to the Navigator. Why the RT never did is another mystery. Obviously now the RT will send that info to a Nav VI.
    Mark
    2015 R 1200 GS Adventure

  10. #70
    Registered User gsinnc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    297
    Quote Originally Posted by marcopolo View Post
    Not quite correct. That screen is certainly available on the Nav V, but as pointed out, the RT was not able to transfer that sort of bike info to the Nav. I have a 2015 GSA, and have both a Nav V, and a Nav VI. I have been able to get bike info -- like that shown in the earlier photo, and more (up to sixteen data elements are possible at one time) -- on the V and the VI from the get go. That's because the GS/GSA were set up to send it to the Navigator. Why the RT never did is another mystery. Obviously now the RT will send that info to a Nav VI.
    Exactly .... but it sounded like Jeff Dean was able to get that same data using the Nav6 on his RTW but you can not get that same data on the Nav5 on the RTW. I thought as you stated it was a "bike interface" and not a GPS feature.
    Ed Apelian
    When Life Throws You a Curve Lean into it!
    2012 R1200GSA Magma Red!
    2016 R1200RT- Platinum Bronze

  11. #71
    Dress for fall & avoid it AlanColes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Bedford, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    689
    Quote Originally Posted by gsinnc View Post
    Exactly .... but it sounded like Jeff Dean was able to get that same data using the Nav6 on his RTW but you can not get that same data on the Nav5 on the RTW. I thought as you stated it was a "bike interface" and not a GPS feature.
    It is very easy to get confused by this.

    It is not a matter of it being an RTW or not an RTW. it is a matter of it being a 2017 RT vs an earlier RT. Jeff now has a 2017 R1200RT so he is now able to get the same data (think it is all the same) on the RT as has been available on 2013~+ GS models (so for the GS it can be said that it is a GSW feature, unlike the RTW). All the info exists on both the 2013+ GS and the 2014+ RT, it is just that BMW choose not to make it available to the GPS mount (and therefore to the GPS) on the RT until the 2017 model year.

    IIRC correctly, it is also not a Nav-V vs Nav-VI issue. I've only used my Nav-V (since sold) only on my 2014 RTW and a 2013 GSW. It, like my Nav-VI, would not show the data Jeff referred to on the 2014 RT but would on GS. I stand to be corrected, but I think the Nav-V will show that data on on the 2017 RT.
    Regards, Alan - President BMWONS - MOA Charter Club #097, BMWMOA/BMWRA/BMWONS/Airheads
    Current: '14 R1200RT / '06 Ducati ST3s / '91 R100GS / '86 R80RT / '75 R90S / '73 850 & '70 750 Commando Prev: '04 R1150RT / '81 Honda GL1100 / '77 Suzuki GS750 / '73 Norton 850 Commando

  12. #72
    Registered User gsinnc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    297
    Quote Originally Posted by AlanColes View Post
    It is very easy to get confused by this.

    It is not a matter of it being an RTW or not an RTW. it is a matter of it being a 2017 RT vs an earlier RT. Jeff now has a 2017 R1200RT so he is now able to get the same data (think it is all the same) on the RT as has been available on 2013~+ GS models (so for the GS it can be said that it is a GSW feature, unlike the RTW). All the info exists on both the 2013+ GS and the 2014+ RT, it is just that BMW choose not to make it available to the GPS mount (and therefore to the GPS) on the RT until the 2017 model year.

    IIRC correctly, it is also not a Nav-V vs Nav-VI issue. I've only used my Nav-V (since sold) only on my 2014 RTW and a 2013 GSW. It, like my Nav-VI, would not show the data Jeff referred to on the 2014 RT but would on GS. I stand to be corrected, but I think the Nav-V will show that data on on the 2017 RT.

    OK ... now that is what I thought! It is the bike's interface that was changed for 2017. The confusing part was Jeff in his original post referred to using it on both his 2015 and 2017 RT's! Whew .... thought for a minute I was going to have to buy the Nav6 to have the added stuff on my '16 RTW.

    Thanks for the clarification. I know it has been on the GS's for some time as I ride with 2 GSW owners and have the added stuff.
    Ed Apelian
    When Life Throws You a Curve Lean into it!
    2012 R1200GSA Magma Red!
    2016 R1200RT- Platinum Bronze

  13. #73
    BMW MOA co-founder bmwdean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Tucson, AZ, & Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,221
    Ok, ok. I went back out to my garage to see if I can add any clarity to this discussion.

    I put the Nav5 on my 2017 RT and, as noted above, the bike interface worked just as it did with the Nav6. No difference. The photo above, which is my Nav6 looks exactly like the Nav5 screen that appeared on my '17 RT.

    Then I put the Nav5 back on the 2015 RT, and not only is there no bike interface (using the same Nav5 that had just worked perfectly on my '17 RT), but I could not even get the four-squares-screen I showed in my photo above to appear without the interface but with one or more blank squares. No squares at all. Perhaps I just did not know how to get them to appear on the '15 RT.

    So, as noted in posts above, the '17 bike interface to the GPS exists and works, both for Nav5 and Nav6. There is no '15 RT interface, but the GPS is not the issue.

    Why did Munich decide to delay this interface to the 2017 model? Who knows?
    Last edited by bmwdean; 09-12-2017 at 11:27 PM.
    Jeff Dean − BMW MOA Co-founder (1972)
    '17 R1200RT, '15 R1200RT, '67 R60/2, '69 R60US, '55 R67/3, '49 R24

  14. #74
    Registered User gsinnc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    297
    Quote Originally Posted by bmwdean View Post
    Ok, ok. I went back out to my garage to see if I can add any clarity to this discussion.

    I put the Nav5 on my 2017 RT and, as noted above, the bike interface worked just as it did with the Nav6. No difference. The photo above, which is my Nav6 looks exactly like the Nav5 screen that appeared on my '17 RT.

    Then I put the Nav5 back on the 2015 RT, and not only is there no bike interface (using the same Nav5 that had just worked perfectly on my '17 RT), but I could not even get the four-squares-screen I showed in my photo above to appear without the interface but with one or more blank squares. No squares at all. Perhaps I just did not know how to get them to appear on the '15 RT.

    So, as noted in posts above, the '17 bike interface to the GPS exists and works, both for Nav5 and Nav6. There is no '15 RT interface, but the GPS is not the issue.

    Why did Munich decide to delay this interface to the 2017 model? Who knows?
    Did you try the Nav6 on the 2015 RT? I suspect it will work the same as the Nav5 but that was my real question.
    Ed Apelian
    When Life Throws You a Curve Lean into it!
    2012 R1200GSA Magma Red!
    2016 R1200RT- Platinum Bronze

  15. #75
    BMW MOA co-founder bmwdean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Tucson, AZ, & Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,221
    Quote Originally Posted by gsinnc View Post
    Did you try the Nav6 on the 2015 RT? I suspect it will work the same as the Nav5 but that was my real question.
    Correct. The Nav5 and Nav6 worked the same. The issue is the RTs, not the GPSs.
    Jeff Dean − BMW MOA Co-founder (1972)
    '17 R1200RT, '15 R1200RT, '67 R60/2, '69 R60US, '55 R67/3, '49 R24

Similar Threads

  1. Hello - Long Time Admirer, First Time Owner
    By dragonfligh in forum New Members
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-15-2017, 11:32 PM
  2. Long time rider, first time on a bmw...
    By proverbio in forum New Members
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-06-2016, 07:09 PM
  3. more time to ride no time to wrench
    By ROGERARNOLD62 in forum Oilheads
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-22-2011, 09:55 AM
  4. Spline Lube: How much time the first time?
    By stanley83 in forum Airheads
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-01-2011, 06:25 PM
  5. How much time do we have;
    By Polarbear in forum Campfire
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 09-24-2008, 10:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •