• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

ABS Brakes

samo

The rear ABS on my 2016 R1200rt seems like it takes over very early in the braking process. Even at low speeds (20 mph). At higher speeds, if you only apply the rear brakes, once the ABS takes over, you are not stopping anytime soon. I completely understand that most of your stopping power comes from the front brake. I have been riding a 2003 R1150rt for the last 14 years, it has very good brakes and does not react like this. Has anyone else experienced this with this bike? Just wondering if this is normal. Thank's , Sam

Just have to learn to use the pedal with the correct pressure.

It happens to me and many others if you are heavy with your foot.

Make sure to use both front and rear even though they are linked.

Other forums have had this as topics from time to time. Since I worked on using both brakes over the last few months it happens very rarely to me.

Just something you need to get used to and then it is fine.

:thumb

I use mostly front brake with a bit of rear as on later model BMWs the front and rear are linked, plus most of your braking power comes from the front. I use heavy rear brake to initiate skids in dirt/gravel, max braking or slow speed control.

Last edited:
I use mostly front brake as on later model BMWs the front and rear are linked, plus most of your braking power comes from the front. Rear brake for skids in dirt/gravel, max braking or slow speed control.