Thread: 1980 RT 100 Alternator Replacement , points and camshaft seal replacement

1980 RT 100 Alternator Replacement , points and camshaft seal replacement

]Hello!
    I replaced the alternator, points, and camshaft seal recently in my 1980 RT 100. I took a picture of the alternator/ points area before dismantling to be sure I put everything back in it's same orientation, however, after having charged the battery, and connecting everything the bike does not have juice when turning the key on... I am a novice in the electrical arena. Could you tell me how to check for electrical continuity in the system. Thank's so much for your help!

Best Wishes,
    Bob

Did you perchance not yet reconnect the battery ground at the transmission?
    Paul Glaves - "Big Bend", Texas U.S.A
    "The greatest challenge to any thinker is stating the problem in a way that will allow a solution." - Bertrand Russell
    http://web.bigbend.net/~glaves/

'99 '03 '06 National Co-Rally Chair Friedle's Avatar

juice

Check the position of the engine cut off switch.

Friedle
    Ride fast safely

Day Dreaming ... happy wanderer's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 137396 View Post
    ]Hello!
    I replaced the alternator, points, and camshaft seal recently in my 1980 RT 100. I took a picture of the alternator/ points area before dismantling to be sure I put everything back in it's same orientation, however, after having charged the battery, and connecting everything the bike does not have juice when turning the key on... I am a novice in the electrical arena. Could you tell me how to check for electrical continuity in the system. Thank's so much for your help!

Best Wishes,
    Bob
    When you say "does not have juice" do you mean the instrument pod lights are not on?
    The headlight does not function?
    The starter won't turn?

Are you using BMW alternator or aftermarket?

Have you load tested the battery and know it to be good?