• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

2002 K1200RS Clutch Slip

MrKB

The clutch on my K1200RS slips a bit if I gas it in 3 or 4 and don't down shift. I'm careful not to do this, but I imagine it's also slipping some on the highway. I used to be a Tech and can tackle most mechanical issues. R&R the clutch looks to be a major job and probably requires special tools. Should I attempt it or leave it up to an experienced BMW shop? The bike is currently in FL, but will be in WI this summer. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

Welcome to the forum! Can you provide some further background? Are you first owner? How many miles on the bike...on the clutch?

I wonder if the clutch is hydraulically actuated? Could this slave cylinder be acting up or low on fluid?

In the future, please put the year and model of the bike you are refering to. IN THE TITLE of your thread. That way you will get more relevant answers and others will be able to search this forum easier.
That being said, if you add that info in your next post, I will put it in the title of this thread.

The most common cause of clutch slippage on early K bikes, other than a grossly misadjusted clutch with no freeplay, is the O-ring behind the nut that holds the "flywheel" to the output shaft. It drys out and cracks, causing oil to get on the friction surface. The labor to replace this O-ring is only 1 step less than replacing the rear main seal. So, if you're already in that deep.......