Thread: BMW Performance Center

BMW Performance Center

I'm thinking about taking the one day on road course at the BMW Performance Center. Has anyone here taken the course? What can you tell me about it? It's pretty pricey, $755 with a rental 1200 GS. I've been riding for many years but I've never felt totally comfortable in the twisties.

I appreciate any comments.

Thanks.
    Mary
    2007 R1200RT, gone
    2009 R1200RT, gone
    2014 R1200RTW, GREAT

Quote Originally Posted by elgin mary View Post
    I'm thinking about taking the one day on road course at the BMW Performance Center. Has anyone here taken the course? What can you tell me about it? It's pretty pricey, $755 with a rental 1200 GS. I've been riding for many years but I've never felt totally comfortable in the twisties.

I appreciate any comments.

Thanks.
    I did the one day course. They now offer a 1 and 2 day course of instruction. It was excellent. Slow speed handling, with speeds gradually increasing to track speeds (not a high speed event), obstacle avoidance, braking techniques and balance and control stuff. Rent the bike. If you drop yours even standing still, the repair cost will likely exceed the rental cost.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I took the one-day course five years ago. At the time the only option was using their GS models. I believe I got a price reduction because of BMW CCA membership. I think there's a reduction for BMW MOA membership now.

Very good instruction. Not a track day, but many opportunities to learn new things. I thought the swerving instruction and the piece with the locked rear wheel (with ABS) was really helpful. A great confidence builder. Very professional instruction.
    John Gamel - BMW MOA Consumer Liaison
    2015 Ebony Metallic R1200RT
    Watching the sunrise outdoors statistically increases your odds of having a good day. And needing a nap after lunch.