Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: wire up top box brake light on 2015 R1200RT

  1. #1

    Question wire up top box brake light on 2015 R1200RT

    looking for help on wiring the brake light on top box for 2015 R1200RT. the box comes with socket to plug in for a 1600 but the RT does not. The dealer did not have time to do it and couldn't get me in for some time, salesman said was not a big
    deal and I should be able to just splice in, but not having any luck. I thought I had it for awhile worked when brake was applied but would kick out relay if the brake was held on for longer time. any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks , Bob

  2. #2
    I used a Skene Design IQ 260 and it works great.

    http://www.skenedesign.com/lights/IQ_260.shtml

    Dave

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Wills Point, TX
    Posts
    524
    The following may help

    Blue/Black: Right turn signal
    Blue/Red:Left turn signal
    Grey/Red: Tail light
    Grey Black with Yellow dot: Brake
    Brown: Ground

    Jay

  4. #4
    Actually the brake and tail leds use the same wire (Grey with black stripe) they just pulse width modulate to make it dimmer for the tail light.

    Dave

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Wills Point, TX
    Posts
    524
    Quote Originally Posted by dwanamaker View Post
    Actually the brake and tail leds use the same wire (Grey with black stripe) they just pulse width modulate to make it dimmer for the tail light.

    Dave
    How do you know this to be true? I tested each wire with a meter and found the results posted above.

    Jay
    Last edited by strataj; 06-22-2016 at 09:54 PM. Reason: typo

  6. #6
    Registered User patm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    407
    Quote Originally Posted by airride View Post
    looking for help on wiring the brake light on top box for 2015 R1200RT. the box comes with socket to plug in for a 1600 but the RT does not. The dealer did not have time to do it and couldn't get me in for some time, salesman said was not a big
    deal and I should be able to just splice in, but not having any luck. I thought I had it for awhile worked when brake was applied but would kick out relay if the brake was held on for longer time. any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks , Bob
    If you read the instructions to install the P3 lights from Skeene design , you can find what wires you need to splice. However it probably won't work without their module as the Canbus detects your extra lights as a leak and would shut down the circuit.
    Pat

    Ride Safe!
    '16 RT

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by airride View Post
    looking for help on wiring the brake light on top box for 2015 R1200RT. the box comes with socket to plug in for a 1600 but the RT does not. The dealer did not have time to do it and couldn't get me in for some time, salesman said was not a big
    deal and I should be able to just splice in, but not having any luck. I thought I had it for awhile worked when brake was applied but would kick out relay if the brake was held on for longer time. any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks , Bob
    I am surmising you don't have central locking. There have been several threads on how to get around this problem. I tied the top box light in to the clearwater can opener. But I have central locking which has the plug. You still have to rewire to get the light to work both ways.
    Last edited by bdfbeemer; 06-23-2016 at 12:33 PM.
    Buck in Greensboro, NC
    2013 R 1200 RT Midnight Blue - traded, 2014 R 1200 RT Ebony Metallic, 2016 S 1000 XR

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by strataj View Post
    How do you know this to be true? I tested each wire with a meter and found the results posted above.

    Jay
    because that's how I wired mine and it works just fine

  9. #9
    bored, bored ... dlowry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Snow Country, ON, Canada
    Posts
    461
    The Skene works fine with CANBUS, the draw is so minuscule for the control unit the CANBUS doesn't even notice it. Same for Hyperlights. Since at least the '05 RT BMW has used a single wire for the tail light/brake light.
    Dave...
    ----------------
    15 R1200 RT, 12 G650GS
    83 Suzuki XN85 D Turbo

  10. #10
    Registered User patm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    407
    Wiring diagram from the Haynes manual:

    Rear light: Grey - Black - Yellow
    Grey - Red - Yellow

    Ground: Brown

    Rear left turn indicator: Blue - Red - White

    Rear right turn indicator: Blue - Black - White

    scan.jpg
    Pat

    Ride Safe!
    '16 RT

  11. #11
    Do you happen to have Clearwater lights on your RT?
    If you do, you can tap into the Clearwater Canopener and achieve both tail light and brake light.


    Milo172
    '78 R100/7
    '94 R1100RSL
    '14 R1200RT

  12. #12

    wire up top box brake light

    thanks to all for info. I think I need another module to hook into, as just tapping into the ground and brake light wire will not work as the system detects a leak and shuts down that circuit. I guess I will have to talk to dealer and ask them what I will have to do [ if they will tell me] or have them do it, $200. thanks again. Bob

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •