Thread: How bad can I screw it up?

How bad can I screw it up?

Hey guys.

I am new to the org. I bought a 1976 R60/6 two years ago and after a lot of work (new 1 over pistons, heads redone, carbs rebuilt and Elec gremlins resolved) she runs great. I did most of the work but took it to a master mechanic to resolve the electrical after 3 frustrating months trying myself. It was worth getting it running. The one thing that is a little annoying is stalling upon rapid deceleration. She runs so sweet at speed and it took so much changing parts and bloody knuckles to get here that I am paranoid about fiddling with the carb settings. I must have post tramatic resto disorder and have a fear I will botch it to the point where it results in a cascade failure. How often do you guys fiddle with carb adjustments? Every week? Once a season? Thanks for any comments.WasserWolfin Milford.jpg

Welcome to the forum! Interesting custom windscreen...protection but that sleeker look!!

You're bike should have the slide carbs on them. I suspect that any "whack it open" response on these types of carbs could result in the symptoms that you're describing. For a brief moment, you've introduced a lot of air and the gas hasn't had a chance to catch up. So, first...don't do that! BTW...the CV carbs that are on the bigger model bikes have a bit of dampening effect in them...on those bikes, the throttle isn't hooked directly to a slide but rather to a butterfly downstream of the carb. The CV carbs operate on vacuum, so whacking the throttle (and the butterfly) has a bit of delay until the vacuum can raise the slide. During the delay, the air/fuel mixture richens a bit because more air is being demanded but the slide hasn't risen, so the air is moving faster while sucking up a bit more gas.