Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Basic steps to change final drive oil?

Basic steps to change final drive oil?

Hi, awaiting '16 RTW to be delivered. My brother says on his 06' RT the rear wheel had to be removed to do this. Others have said it's simpler w/ RTW, but I don't know what was meant by 'simpler' and I've never done this job on a motorcycle before. Can you give a brief description of the basic steps? I'll be on an 8K mile trip and will do an engine oil change about 5 or 6K miles. I think the FD oil change recommendation is ever 12K miles or 2 years, so shouldn't have to do this on the road. Still though, be nice to know the basic steps.

Cheers n Thanks

Hehe, I guess I'm not the only one who doesn't have a clue 69 views later

Fortis Fortuna Adiuvat Omega Man's Avatar
    Sometimes it just takes a while for someone who has done the service to wander by. Jim VonBaden probably has done this service, maybe he will swing by.
    OM
    "You can do good or you can do well. Sooner or later they make you choose." MI5
    Mod Squad
    2009 F800GS 1994 TW200

There is a fill plug on the new wet heads so no need to drop the final drive. Remove fill plug, clean and new o ring. Remove drain plug, drain, clean and replace gasket. Fill with 180 ml of fluid, replace fill plug, ride.

O rings, gasket washers, fluid and measuring/fill container can all be purchased cheaply from beemer boneyard. Process takes one beer or 15 minutes including clean up.

Sent from my KFSAWA using Tapatalk

^^ there you go ... Easier and quicker than changing the motor oil.
    Chris - 2015 BMW RT / 1973 BMW R75/5 - Yard Art - 1968 Hodaka / 1968 Sachs
    President SCBMWRC https://scbmwrc.com/
    MOA / Airhead Beemer Club

Quote Originally Posted by BMARC153920 View Post