Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 22 of 22

Thread: '15 RT battery tender options

  1. #16
    not so retired henzilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    CENTEX USA
    Posts
    9,214
    Oh my: One of my old line foreman trucks had three radios which on occasion would have me on the wrong frequency at the wrong time

    laugh good stuff
    Steve Henson
    SABMWRA MOA Club#62's Flat Fixer/ current forum moderator
    It's not the breaths you take, but the moments that take your breath away-D.Dillon/G. Strait

  2. #17

    Omtimate

    Just plugged in a new Omtimate 4 set to CAN-BUS.
    My Hyper Lights in the rear turn on and stay on.
    Any way around this?
    For today I plugged into a SAE plug on the 2015 R1200RT

  3. #18
    Love living and riding! aholgate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    15

    It arrived

    So I just got the optomate 4 DP from Amazon today and I'll plug it into the canbus. I'll see if there are any issues but I hope not. It's a stock bike with no accessories except the stock GPS so I should be fine. In the spring I'll do the direct to battery outlet for my best.

    Ashley

  4. #19
    not so retired henzilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    CENTEX USA
    Posts
    9,214
    Quote Originally Posted by cycle1 View Post
    Just plugged in a new Omtimate 4 set to CAN-BUS.
    My Hyper Lights in the rear turn on and stay on.
    Any way around this?
    For today I plugged into a SAE plug on the 2015 R1200RT
    Where are the hyper lights tapped into for the running light function?
    If it's off the accessory socket I believe it will do that.

    And welcome to the Forum
    Steve Henson
    SABMWRA MOA Club#62's Flat Fixer/ current forum moderator
    It's not the breaths you take, but the moments that take your breath away-D.Dillon/G. Strait

  5. #20
    Registered User wbrownell9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    New Castle, DE
    Posts
    269
    My dealer put a fused SAE pigtail directly to the battery, and that's what I use for my pump. I would also use it for the tender if I needed one. I use the Canbus Powerlet port on the right panel for my heated gear.

    Question: is the stock battery a lead-acid (VRLA), AGM, or a lithium battery? The different chemistries require different behavior from the tender (float voltage, etc.). I have a Yuasa SmartShot which is designed for the lead-acid chemistry. I haven't been able to figure it out from reading the manual, and I haven't taken the battery out to look at it (shame on me, I know).
    2016 R1200 GSA

  6. #21
    Tourmeister gr8ridn2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Kern Valley CA
    Posts
    260
    Your factory supplied battery should be the AGM design. That is what is supplied with my 14 GSA and 16 S1000XR. Earlier RT's were supplied with Gel batteries requiring a different float voltage.
    2014 R1200 GSA W - Continent traveler
    2016 S1000XR - Smile Maker
    1976 R90/6 - Just Plain Fun

  7. #22

    The Hyper lites

    Quote Originally Posted by henzilla View Post
    Where are the hyper lights tapped into for the running light function?
    If it's off the accessory socket I believe it will do that.

    And welcome to the Forum
    My dealer installed the Hyper Lites . I don't know which wire was used.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •