Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Got my Twin Max

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    70

    Got my Twin Max

    I have a 2011 R1200GS, I had my sync done at 5K about a year ago, I have 16K on it now, over that period I could tell that the vibration in the H bars was coming back. It was off about .5 to one side, took about 3 minutes and the vibration is back to nothing. Thanks for all the info you guys have put on the site for us new guys. Also Capital Cycle has the Twin Max for about 85.00 on ebay, thats cheaper than going to the shop for 5 minutes.

  2. #2
    Thanks for the info...


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Cobourg,Ontario,Canada
    Posts
    64
    Quote Originally Posted by kskraye View Post
    I have a 2011 R1200GS, I had my sync done at 5K about a year ago, I have 16K on it now, over that period I could tell that the vibration in the H bars was coming back. It was off about .5 to one side, took about 3 minutes and the vibration is back to nothing. Thanks for all the info you guys have put on the site for us new guys. Also Capital Cycle has the Twin Max for about 85.00 on ebay, thats cheaper than going to the shop for 5 minutes.
    Having Twin Max and GS911 is very good think.A little investment for peace of mind.I used them only once at cca 6000 mls.Adjusted troottle cable on 2nd cylinder slightly.Will do a check at12000 mls.BTW engine is smooter by more miles.

    Steve

  4. #4
    Registered User natrab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Antioch, CA
    Posts
    328
    Congrats! After the first time you adjust it from out of whack and feel how smooth your bike is, it's all worth it. Did it for my friend and he was impressed as well. It's easy to get used to the vibration, but when it goes away it feels so good.
    Current rides:
    2013 R1200RT 90th - "Tyr" - 85k miles
    2012 R1200GS Rallye - "Carl" - 2500 miles
    Previous BMWs: 2011 R1200RT-P, 2007 R1200S, 2006 R1200RT

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Menlo Park, CA
    Posts
    243
    Just a note of caution: the TwinMax (at least mine) is very sensitive to battery voltage. I've found that even if I disconnect the battery, when I come back 6000 miles later and install it I can't get it to work. So I always put in a new battery.

    With a fresh battery you can see the effect of even the slightest adjustment of the throttle cable. With a low battery you won't see that, and in fact quite a bit of tinkering with the cable will get you little or no effect.

    Once you think you have it dialed in, switch the two vacuum leads side to side. The needle should not move. If it moves significantly then you're not getting a true reading.

    Also, be sure you turn the sensitivity all the way up when you zero the unit. Otherwise you may introduce an electronic bias. DAMHIK.

    JayJay
    ******
    '09 R1200 RT, '73 R75/5 Toaster (under rehabilitation)
    Lots of rice burners in the past ...

  6. #6
    Registered User dmftoy1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lexington, IL
    Posts
    660
    Quote Originally Posted by jayjay View Post
    Just a note of caution: the TwinMax (at least mine) is very sensitive to battery voltage. I've found that even if I disconnect the battery, when I come back 6000 miles later and install it I can't get it to work. So I always put in a new battery.

    With a fresh battery you can see the effect of even the slightest adjustment of the throttle cable. With a low battery you won't see that, and in fact quite a bit of tinkering with the cable will get you little or no effect.

    Once you think you have it dialed in, switch the two vacuum leads side to side. The needle should not move. If it moves significantly then you're not getting a true reading.

    Also, be sure you turn the sensitivity all the way up when you zero the unit. Otherwise you may introduce an electronic bias. DAMHIK.

    JayJay
    Yours must be different than mine, I don't have batteries in it, it uses alligator clips to the bikes battery or a spare I have laying around?

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Menlo Park, CA
    Posts
    243
    Quote Originally Posted by dmftoy1 View Post
    Yours must be different than mine, I don't have batteries in it, it uses alligator clips to the bikes battery or a spare I have laying around?
    Mine uses a 9V battery. I'm not aware of a 12V option. The Carbmate (same idea, a differential pressure sensor) connects to the bike battery, though.

    JayJay
    ******
    '09 R1200 RT, '73 R75/5 Toaster (under rehabilitation)
    Lots of rice burners in the past ...

  8. #8
    Registered User dmftoy1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lexington, IL
    Posts
    660
    Ahh - bet mine is carbmate!

  9. #9
    Generation 1 Twin Max had leads to the bike battery or other nearby 12v battery. The later version units contain a 9v battery. Mine is an early unit which connects to the bike or other 12v battery. I put a connector on it so it connects to the bike without digging for the battery.
    Paul Glaves - "Big Bend", Texas U.S.A
    "The greatest challenge to any thinker is stating the problem in a way that will allow a solution." - Bertrand Russell
    http://web.bigbend.net/~glaves/

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Canberra,Australia
    Posts
    17

    Buy Twin Max - But Not From Australia

    I have wanted a TwinMax for years. Yes Capital Cycle now have the units BUT NO they won't/can't/could not care less about posting it to Australia

    What is with posting to overseas destinations by US businesses? They either will not post OR they charge an absolute fortune for the privilege. Yet Max BMW have posted me boxes of parts before !

    Can anyone direct me to a business that will sell me the Twin Max unit and then post it to Australia

  11. #11
    Registered User 36654's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Central PA
    Posts
    5,237
    Quote Originally Posted by dabdab View Post
    I have wanted a TwinMax for years. Yes Capital Cycle now have the units BUT NO they won't/can't/could not care less about posting it to Australia

    What is with posting to overseas destinations by US businesses? They either will not post OR they charge an absolute fortune for the privilege. Yet Max BMW have posted me boxes of parts before !

    Can anyone direct me to a business that will sell me the Twin Max unit and then post it to Australia
    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Twinmax-f...item418df3062a

    These guys claim to do sales to Australia.
    Cave contents: 16 R12RS, 13 Toyota Tacoma, 03 Simplicity Legacy, 97 Stihl FS75, Dewalt DW625 & SawStop PCS175
    1) My expectations are never low enough & 2) Incompetence is infinite ........David Brooks

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Menlo Park, CA
    Posts
    243
    Quote Originally Posted by PGlaves View Post
    Generation 1 Twin Max had leads to the bike battery or other nearby 12v battery. The later version units contain a 9v battery. Mine is an early unit which connects to the bike or other 12v battery. I put a connector on it so it connects to the bike without digging for the battery.
    Thanks for clearing that up, Paul. Good historical info for a relative newby (I've only had my TwinMax for six years).

    I actually think I'd be happier if mine connected to the SAE plug for the trickle charger, that way I wouldn't have to worry about the hassle with a new battery each use.

    JayJay
    ******
    '09 R1200 RT, '73 R75/5 Toaster (under rehabilitation)
    Lots of rice burners in the past ...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •