Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 64

Thread: Learn Garmin BaseCamp Tutorial Videos

  1. #31
    Alps Adventurer GlobalRider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada and the Alps
    Posts
    4,163
    Quote Originally Posted by patm View Post
    Garmin doesn't have to provide software to format your SD card, Windows already has that built in.
    Maybe an older Windows version, but Windows 10 formats in NTFS and exFAT only. Even 7 and Vista doesn't according to my friend who I called.

  2. #32
    Registered User patm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    153
    Quote Originally Posted by GlobalRider View Post
    Maybe an older Windows version, but Windows 10 formats in NTFS and exFAT only. Even 7 and Vista doesn't according to my friend who I called.
    Sorry about that. Either in windows or in Admin command mode but there is a 32GB limitation by default. FAT32 was invented in days when 32 GB was considered huge.
    You can get free utilities:
    Check this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YcOkHajz3ug
    This one is even easier, no installation required. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DvxgghEl5Xk
    Last edited by patm; 07-28-2016 at 09:01 PM.
    Pat

    Ride Safe!
    '16 RT

  3. #33
    Alps Adventurer GlobalRider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada and the Alps
    Posts
    4,163
    Quote Originally Posted by patm View Post
    Sorry about that. There is a 32GB limitation by default.
    Check this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YcOkHajz3ug
    Free download...I no longer download anything that is free because of all the garbage they usually bundle with it.

  4. #34
    Alps Adventurer GlobalRider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada and the Alps
    Posts
    4,163

    BMW Navigator V - Downlaoded Wapoints

    I have 3 other Garmin units and they are all easy...intuitive to use. But not the BMW Navigator V.

    I have loaded some waypoints to my BMW Navigator V. They are there according to BaseCamp.

    Where do you find them on the GPS. Normally I'd go to Favorites or Waypoints on any other Garmin that I have, and there they are to select and use.

    Any help and tips appreciated. Thanks! By the way, I watched lesson 2 and 8 which I thought would deal with my question.

    EDITED: not official, but it appears waypoints can only be placed in the Internal Storage folder and not on the microSD memory card. Unless there is a way to have the GPS source waypoint information from the microSD card.

    It makes me wonder what the purpose of the microSD card is. Just to store other maps and MP3s? Garmin must have hired software people from Microsoft.

    EDITED AGAIN: I have it all sorted out. Wrote up a set of instructions: Storing Waypoints on the MicroSD Memory Card within the BMW Motorrad Navigator V and then importing them to Internal Storage.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by GlobalRider; 08-03-2016 at 04:40 PM.

  5. #35
    Alps Adventurer GlobalRider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada and the Alps
    Posts
    4,163
    Here is a good one.

    I generated a route (call it A to B) and then another (B to A). The routes are identical other than one being in reverse.

    Yet when you look at each, they are both routing in the same direction (A to B)...so you look at route B to A and invert it so that it matches what I want to do and then route A to B is backwards and showing the B to A routing.

    Go figure!

  6. #36
    Dress for fall & avoid it AlanColes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Bedford, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    689
    Not sure why Alex, but none of this seems to go in a straightforward manner once we try to do anything other than simple tasks. I've always figured that it was just because I'd hit my head too many times and am getting dense, but it seems most others have the same frustrations. :-(

    I've had some success (unfortunately only sporadic) by setting a route in BaseCamp, opening it up then going to "Advanced" and in the lower right corner hitting the "invert" icon. YMMV - certainly mine does wildly.
    Regards, Alan - President BMWONS - MOA Charter Club #097, BMWMOA/BMWRA/BMWONS/Airheads
    Current: '14 R1200RT / '06 Ducati ST3s / '91 R100GS / '86 R80RT / '75 R90S / '73 850 & '70 750 Commando Prev: '04 R1150RT / '81 Honda GL1100 / '77 Suzuki GS750 / '73 Norton 850 Commando

  7. #37
    Alps Adventurer GlobalRider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada and the Alps
    Posts
    4,163
    Quote Originally Posted by AlanColes View Post
    Not sure why Alex, but none of this seems to go in a straightforward manner once we try to do anything other than simple tasks. I've always figured that it was just because I'd hit my head too many times and am getting dense, but it seems most others have the same frustrations. :-(

    I've had some success (unfortunately only sporadic) by setting a route in BaseCamp, opening it up then going to "Advanced" and in the lower right corner hitting the "invert" icon. YMMV - certainly mine does wildly.
    I'll try that. Edited to add: I already tried that by clicking on the route (does the same as going to Advanced) and it does not work.

    I've also just posted on the Garmin forums.

    I am sure it is possible, but once a route has been generated, how do you extend it. This happens when I do something on the screen an the route considers itself completed, when in fact, I am not done yet. The trouble is, in the 15 years I've used a GPS, it has always been used for other purposes and I've never used it for routing or generated a route.
    Last edited by GlobalRider; 08-21-2016 at 02:15 PM.

  8. #38
    Dress for fall & avoid it AlanColes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Bedford, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    689
    Quote Originally Posted by GlobalRider View Post
    ...but once a route has been generated, how do you extend it. This happens when I do something on the screen an the route considers itself completed, when in fact, I am not done yet...
    Do you mean extend the route within a particular day, or add a day?
    Regards, Alan - President BMWONS - MOA Charter Club #097, BMWMOA/BMWRA/BMWONS/Airheads
    Current: '14 R1200RT / '06 Ducati ST3s / '91 R100GS / '86 R80RT / '75 R90S / '73 850 & '70 750 Commando Prev: '04 R1150RT / '81 Honda GL1100 / '77 Suzuki GS750 / '73 Norton 850 Commando

  9. #39
    Alps Adventurer GlobalRider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada and the Alps
    Posts
    4,163
    Quote Originally Posted by AlanColes View Post
    Do you mean extend the route within a particular day, or add a day?
    I was generating a route, say A to E, and while clicking on points, say A to B to C, I end up doing something in BaseCamp that gets me out of the route and then the route is set...except I wanted to continue onto D and E. This on a day trip going in one direction.

  10. #40
    Dress for fall & avoid it AlanColes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Bedford, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    689
    Alex, if I'm understanding it right, for me, when I've got a trip open the left panel shows the Day (Date IIRC, if a date is selected for the trip) and the starting point and destination(s).

    To add one one to an existing route (Trip) I enter it in the bottom window of that left panel below "Search along route". Once that is entered, found and selected, it is placed at the end of your waypoints and when I click on it I then have the ability to move it up or down in the order using the appropriate arrows and using the clock (between those arrows) to set the type of routing preference (Motorcycling/Motorcycling Curvy/Custom) as well as arrival, departure, and layover times.

    Is that what you're referring to, or something else?
    Regards, Alan - President BMWONS - MOA Charter Club #097, BMWMOA/BMWRA/BMWONS/Airheads
    Current: '14 R1200RT / '06 Ducati ST3s / '91 R100GS / '86 R80RT / '75 R90S / '73 850 & '70 750 Commando Prev: '04 R1150RT / '81 Honda GL1100 / '77 Suzuki GS750 / '73 Norton 850 Commando

  11. #41
    That road looks good! Norwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    From NW AL to WNC
    Posts
    283
    Quote Originally Posted by GlobalRider View Post
    Here is a good one.

    I generated a route (call it A to B) and then another (B to A). The routes are identical other than one being in reverse.

    Yet when you look at each, they are both routing in the same direction (A to B)...so you look at route B to A and invert it so that it matches what I want to do and then route A to B is backwards and showing the B to A routing.

    Go figure!
    Try this: In BaseCamp, created a short route from point A to B.
    With that route highlighted (left click) then right click to duplicate
    Now right click...Invert route.
    Both should be named and displayed in your LIST under a Folder .... Both will have proper arrows.

    Hope this helps!
    MOA Ambassador, Member of AL, GA and Chattanooga Clubs, MTF Gold member and BOD.
    2011 R1200 GSA with DMC sidecar; G650GS.
    My annual charity event: http://www.echbenefit.com/
    " Oh Lord I pray, Let me live long enough to do everything they say I've done"

  12. #42
    Alps Adventurer GlobalRider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada and the Alps
    Posts
    4,163
    Alan, this is an example...

    I generated a route starting in Calio, going through Alsen and Loma and ending in Milton, but as I clicked on Loma, I got side tracked by doing something and it closed the route as can be seen in the bottom left window.

    I then tried to continue from Loma to Milton, but it generated another 2nd route which can be seen in the bottom left window as well.

    What I wanted to do is simply continue and add to the Calio - Loma route.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  13. #43
    Alps Adventurer GlobalRider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada and the Alps
    Posts
    4,163
    Quote Originally Posted by Norwood View Post
    Try this: In BaseCamp, created a short route from point A to B.
    With that route highlighted (left click) then right click to duplicate
    Now right click...Invert route.
    Both should be named and displayed in your LIST under a Folder .... Both will have proper arrows.

    Hope this helps!
    Both routes have the arrows pointing the same way. If I invert one route to change the arrows, it does the same thing to the other route.

    Another update to BaseCamp needed. I'll let Garmin know.

  14. #44
    Dress for fall & avoid it AlanColes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Bedford, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    689
    Ed, I don't see the Trip in your upper left window.

    If you follow these screenshots below, you'll see that in BaseCamp under "Trip Planner" I created a one-way trip from Calio to Milton (I used to spend my summers on my grandfather's farm in Milton PEI).

    Name:  Calio-Milton-01.jpg
Views: 127
Size:  44.0 KB

    When I click on the "Exit" icon on the lower right of the left pane above, it takes me to the screen below.

    Name:  Calio-Milton-03.jpg
Views: 129
Size:  27.9 KB

    From there, if I double Left-click "Trip to Milton" in the upper left window than it will re-open that trip for editing (click on it - may require a single or double click). To Alsen and Loma simple type "Alsen" into the "Search near Calio" window in the middle of the left window and select Alsen, ND from the drop-down list. This will add Alsen to the trip and should place it in between for you. If it does not than simply go to the entry in the trip and highlight it (click on it - may require a single or double click) if it isn't already highlighted, and you will see to the right of the place name up and down arrows which can be used to move the order of the routing.

    That should result in a trip identical to this one below:
    Name:  Calio-Milton-04.jpg
Views: 128
Size:  50.2 KB

    BTW, you'll note that the image above has the two waypoints as 30 minute stopovers. This is something that happens automatically. I believe it is setup within your preferences. Easy to adjust and I've been thinking of setting mine to 15 minutes to reflect the time I usually allot at gas stops for stretching and moving around. For places you don't want to stop but need to have imbedded to go a specific route, these can be set as "Shaping Points" (routing points that are not announced on the GPS) which I used to use but haven't for several months and so completely forget how to do it and will need to reacquaint myself when they're needed next. I'm just getting to old to remember everything. ;-)
    Last edited by AlanColes; 08-22-2016 at 08:12 PM. Reason: change third image
    Regards, Alan - President BMWONS - MOA Charter Club #097, BMWMOA/BMWRA/BMWONS/Airheads
    Current: '14 R1200RT / '06 Ducati ST3s / '91 R100GS / '86 R80RT / '75 R90S / '73 850 & '70 750 Commando Prev: '04 R1150RT / '81 Honda GL1100 / '77 Suzuki GS750 / '73 Norton 850 Commando

  15. #45
    That road looks good! Norwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    From NW AL to WNC
    Posts
    283
    Quote Originally Posted by GlobalRider View Post
    Alan, this is an example...

    I generated a route starting in Calio, going through Alsen and Loma and ending in Milton, but as I clicked on Loma, I got side tracked by doing something and it closed the route as can be seen in the bottom left window.

    I then tried to continue from Loma to Milton, but it generated another 2nd route which can be seen in the bottom left window as well.

    What I wanted to do is simply continue and add to the Calio - Loma route.
    Another fast way:

    Highlight both of you routes in the display panel lower left.

    RT Click : Join routes

    Hope this helps.
    MOA Ambassador, Member of AL, GA and Chattanooga Clubs, MTF Gold member and BOD.
    2011 R1200 GSA with DMC sidecar; G650GS.
    My annual charity event: http://www.echbenefit.com/
    " Oh Lord I pray, Let me live long enough to do everything they say I've done"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •