Thread: New member from Raleigh, NC

New member from Raleigh, NC

Hi, looking forward to getting to meet some of you this year, as many previous people posting, I have been off a bike for 12 years with kids and building a business. Previous to that I was a police officer in the UK for 18+ years and for several years was on traffic police riding K1200's........splashed out on a new K1600GT and can't wait for the weather to warm up a little and get out on the road! I am looking to purchase some Klim Badlands jacket and pants......was advised against BMW clothing by the dealer who stated the Klim was a better product......anyone got any views on that?

Glenn Burrell

welcome

Welcome aboard. I am just an our north of you. I do get to the Raleigh area regularly so maybe we will run into each other on the road.

Welcome to the Forum

First off welcome to the forum and you've bought one of my dream bikes. I'll give you my impression of both KLIM and BMW gear.

I own a full KLIM Adventure suite, a BMW Streetguard II suit and a BMW Airshell and Airflow pants.

I have also owned Olympia and Hein Gericke in the past.

I prefer jackets with built in waterproofness.

I have never been down in any of this gear so my impression is only from a wearability viewpoint.

The KLIM Adventure jacket is my favorite 3 season jacket, it's comfortable although a little bulky compared to the Streetguard. The Streetguard is more comfortable but doesn't vent as well (although I think the Streetguard III has better venting). I find the BMW gear to wear a little more like a jacket vs. motorcycle gear. Both are equal in waterproofness.

I don't wear the pants to either suit because I usually wear a pair of FirstGear waterproof pants b/c they have full length leg zippers.

Both jackets get me to the mid 80's when I switch to the Airshell/Airflow combo for better venting. I add an LDrider evaporative shirt over about 95 degrees.