• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Ilium Highway Pegs, Tupperware Removal '09 R1200RT

jbrooksdavis

I know this has been asked 1,000 times already, so at the risk of offending everyone here we go. I have been researching different highway pegs for my 2009 R1200RT. I think I have settled on the Ilium pegs. Do I really need to remove all the tupperware to install the pegs? Can I remove the lower, silver engine fairing by simply removing the 6 screws or is it a part of main fairing? I've read that some have removed the bottom 3 or 4 screws and simply "shoehorned" the tupperware, but I have seen what that stuff costs and I don't want to break anything. Yes, I have read that removing all the tupperware is some right of passage when owning a BMW, I'd just rather not perform that right at this time. That being said, if I must, I will. I'd rather do it myself than pay a wrench turner $90+ for the honor.

:scratch

P.s.

I have nothing against wrench turners, I've just always prefered to do things myself unless it is absolutely impractical.

:banghead

Tupperware

I was reluctant to remove mine too but took the plunge 1 rainy day. I used a YouTube video from I believe max BMW and had quite the feeling of accomplishment when I finished. Go for it.