• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Father's Day Weekend

OfficerImpersonator

Seattle-area Rounder
I've been riding a BMW for six years now - first the K75S, quickly replaced by a R1150RT-P. Being a single-seater, the RTP left my now 7 1/2 year old son at home when I went on rides.

Two weeks ago, my 2012 GSA joined the RTP in the garage. The RTP is my bike, the GSA is without a doubt "John's bike". We've gone on a few half-day trips to get him acclimated to riding pillion. He's loved every minute and has acted responsibly at every opportunity to act irresponsibly on the back of the new bike.

Last week, I asked him if he felt up to going on an over-night moto-camping trip with me. I laid out all the down-sides for a kid his age:

1. No mommy.
2. Committed to spending lots of time on the back of the bike as we cross the Cascade crest to find reliable dry riding and camping on the dry side of the curtain in Central Washington.
3. If the weather does go bad, or you decide you want to go home, it takes a long time to get there - and through the bad weather if that's the reason we're bailing for home.

He's been tent camping his entire life, so he's fine with the outdoor part. It's the being outside on a motorcycle for extended periods of time - and not falling asleep while riding - that were my pre-trip concerns.